Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I am a bit of a newbie and I have a problem with apt that is stumping me. For some reason apt reports that the package kdegames has ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Package problem, broken dependency and more

Hi all,
    I am a bit of a newbie and I have a problem with apt that is stumping me. For some reason apt reports that the package kdegames has an unmet dependencie but it says it is installed. Here is the dump of apt-get -f install:

Reading Package Lists... Done
    Building Dependency Tree... Done
    Correcting dependencies... failed.
    The following packages have unmet dependencies:
    : kdegames: Depends: (>= 4:3.3.2-1) but is installed
    E: Error, pkgProblemResolver::Resolve generated breaks, this may be caused by held packages.
    E: Unable to correct dependencies

I dont know what to do to fix this. I want to install and update some other packages but without this problem getting fixed I am stuck.

Ok I have another question. When I try to remove or update the same package synaptic wants to remove kde and a few other core components. Why does it want to uninstall kde just to get rid of the games package? Also I get the same request when trying to update WINE and other packages as well.

Thanks

Just Joined!

Help anyone?

Hello again,
    I hope someone can help me because without this problem getting fixed I cannot use apt or synaptic to do anything. Synaptic reports two packages broken. I have traced it to a package that kdegames depends on but that package is blank. And by blank I mean there is no name for it or any installed files. Under the blank packages dependency tab it shows only this:

Conflicts: evolution-data-server
    Replaces: evolution-data-server