Find the answer to your Linux question:
Alright, I've been working with debian for a couple years now, and recently it's started doing a very odd thing. It can't decide what order the drives go in. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question kernel insanity

Alright, I've been working with debian for a couple years now, and recently it's started doing a very odd thing. It can't decide what order the drives go in.

I have an older motherboard and a very large new harddrive and DVD±RW so I've got a PCI IDE controller card.

I keep the onboard IDE active for a DVD-ROM that doesn't like being on the UATA card and also since I need to boot from CDROM once in a while. Because of this I go ahead and keep my windows HDD on that controller too.

So I've got:
    OBIDE0,0 - HDD (80h boot) WD 20G
    OBIDE1,0 - DVD
    PCIIDE0,0 - HDD (81h boot) Seagate 160G
    PCIIDE1,0 - DVD

Now most of the time the debian installer looks at this and puts the 160 as /dev/hda and 20G as /dev/hde. Fine, I'm in Linux more than Windows anyway so this works. I use grub so I just edit menu.lst to sort out the (hd0,0) and (hd1,0) references because the installer puts them the wrong way around.