Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm relatively new to linux and am having trouble accessing my desktop remotely via vnc. The PC dual-boots Win XP and Debian and I can connect to the unit when ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Can't connect to vnc server -- locks up server

I'm relatively new to linux and am having trouble accessing my desktop remotely via vnc. The PC dual-boots Win XP and Debian and I can connect to the unit when it's running Windows and vnc. On the linux side I'm running Debian Sarge 3.1 (kernel 2.6.8-2-686), KDE3.3, XFree86 4.0.3.1.

When I try to connect (from inside my subnet), I get prompted for the password, which I key in, then I get the vnc viewer screen, but it's all black. Meanwhile, at this point the x-server is completely frozen.

I've loaded vnc4server version 4.0 and it's installed as a module in XFree86.
    Code:
    Section "Module"
       Load "vnc"
    EndSection
    Section "Screen"
       Option "SecurityTypes" "VncAuth"
       Option "UserPasswdVerifier" "VncAuth"
       Option "PasswordFile" "/root/.vnc/passwd"
    EndSection
    Code:
    mycomputer: locate vnc.so
    /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/vnc.so
    The vnc log file looks like this...
    Code:
    cat ~/.vnc/mycomputer\:1.log

Xvnc version 4.0 - built Jan 22 2005 17:23:07
    Underlying X server release 40200000, The XFree86 Project, Inc

Tue Sep  5 22:10:33 2006
     vncext:      VNC extension running!
     vncext:      Listening for VNC connections on port 5901
     vncext:      created VNC server for screen 0
    Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/, removing from list!
    Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/, removing from list!
    Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/, removing from list!
    Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/, removing from list!