Find the answer to your Linux question:
This is just my second Debian install and I'm new to Linux. I have a brand new Intel DQ965GF motherboard and when I'm getting a "No common CDROM drive was ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help installing on Intel DQ965GF

This is just my second Debian install and I'm new to Linux. I have a brand new Intel DQ965GF motherboard and when I'm getting a "No common CDROM drive was detected" error. I'm installing the testing version (that's the version I need for other reasons) and I've tried using the net install and the DVD install with the same results. In both cases the system boots on the install CD/DVD and the first several steps work fine. The mobo came with some drivers but nothing for the cdrom or ide.

The Installation guide has a few suggestions, none of which helped me:
    The system has both a CD/DVD R and a CD/DVD rw and I tied both.

There are no entries in /var/log/syslog about a CDROM, but there is a entry. about a missing module ide-mod.

There is no /dev/cdroms or anything else that looks like a cdrom

The install guide says to check if DMA is currently enabled but there is no /proc/ide folder so I think the problem is that the ide driver was not installed.

Any help would be appreciated.

There are a few threads about this on the forum, this one for example :
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/per...herboards.html

Basically you have to use a custom netinstaller available here :
    http://kmuto.jp/debian/d-i/
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

-Bruce Lee

Just Joined!
    I'm pretty new at this, but it seems the custom installers are all for sarge builds. It seems to me that these won't work.

Quote Originally Posted by mksco