Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
I've never been very good with linux so bare with me . I downloaded 64 studio and installed it ok. However when I load it up I get an error ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    11

    64 Studio Help!


    I've never been very good with linux so bare with me .

    I downloaded 64 studio and installed it ok. However when I load it up I get an error message saying something about the x window config then I get a console type thing with a penguin in the background lol. One thing I noticed is that the screen flickers now and then so could it be the gpu?

    Specs:

    Athlon 3200+ (@2.5ghz)
    ECS RS482-M Motherboard
    ATI X1950 pro GPU (I heard these can be problematic with linux)
    HDS: 36gb WD Raptor (for windows)
    250bg Seagate (for files)
    an old maxtor diamondmax 8 for linux lol

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi blindmelon7,

    Welcome to the LinuxForums,

    its a graphics card problem only. did you install ATI drivers?






    Casper
    Last edited by devils casper; 04-17-2007 at 05:33 PM.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    11
    Thanks for the reply

    How would I go about installing the ATI drivers? I'll re-boot now and see what errors it comes up with.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    check these tutorials. Tutorial 1, Tutorial 2.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    11
    How do I download drivers if I cant get into the OS? Sould I do it in windows and put them on my seagate?

    Edit: Would a CD work?

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    set Driver to "vesa" in xorg.conf file. this will fix Graphics Problem and you can install ATI drivers after that.
    execute this at command prompt
    Code:
    su
    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    * its Capital X in X11.
    look for Section Device, "Vedio Card" and set driver to "vesa".
    something like this
    Code:
    Section "Device"
      identifier "xxxx Video Card"
      driver "vesa"
      screen 0
    EndSection
    save file and execute 'startx' OR reboot.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    11
    YES! I'm now on Linux. Thank you very much, I will be on later when I cant get the drivers to work

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    glad to help you.
    ATI driver installation is very easy. follow instructions from first tutorial. create a backup copy of xorg.conf file before installing drivers. if anything goes wrong, you can use backed up copy.
    Code:
    su
    cd /etc/X11
    cp xorg.conf xorg.conf.working
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    11
    Ok I got as far as listing the types of pakage I can create but I'm not sure which one I'm using. Would it be Debian/experimental?

  11. #10
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by blindmelon7
    Ok I got as far as listing the types of pakage I can create but I'm not sure which one I'm using. Would it be Debian/experimental?
    I would say Debian/etch, as the packages listed for 64 Studio are mostly the same as in Etch.

    If you have any questions/comments regarding my tutorial, please post them.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •