Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
Making it imposssible to install my vidcard drivers........
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    19

    When I ctrl-alt-f1 I get nothing but a black blank screen......HELP!


    Making it imposssible to install my vidcard drivers.....

  2. #2
    Just Joined! royper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    32
    Try to execute init 3 in a terminal.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    19
    being a complete noob I have zero idea what you mean!

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    19
    Ok I did do thast but it had no effect

  5. #5
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,132
    Can you post the contents of your /etc/inittab please?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    19
    Code:
    # /etc/inittab: init(8) configuration.
    # $Id: inittab,v 1.91 2002/01/25 13:35:21 miquels Exp $
    
    # The default runlevel.
    id:2:initdefault:
    
    # Boot-time system configuration/initialization script.
    # This is run first except when booting in emergency (-b) mode.
    si::sysinit:/etc/init.d/rcS
    
    # What to do in single-user mode.
    ~~:S:wait:/sbin/sulogin
    
    # /etc/init.d executes the S and K scripts upon change
    # of runlevel.
    #
    # Runlevel 0 is halt.
    # Runlevel 1 is single-user.
    # Runlevels 2-5 are multi-user.
    # Runlevel 6 is reboot.
    
    l0:0:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 0
    l1:1:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 1
    l2:2:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 2
    l3:3:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 3
    l4:4:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 4
    l5:5:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 5
    l6:6:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 6
    # Normally not reached, but fallthrough in case of emergency.
    z6:6:respawn:/sbin/sulogin
    
    # What to do when CTRL-ALT-DEL is pressed.
    ca:12345:ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t1 -a -r now
    
    # Action on special keypress (ALT-UpArrow).
    #kb::kbrequest:/bin/echo "Keyboard Request--edit /etc/inittab to let this work."
    
    # What to do when the power fails/returns.
    pf::powerwait:/etc/init.d/powerfail start
    pn::powerfailnow:/etc/init.d/powerfail now
    po::powerokwait:/etc/init.d/powerfail stop
    
    # /sbin/getty invocations for the runlevels.
    #
    # The "id" field MUST be the same as the last
    # characters of the device (after "tty").
    #
    # Format:
    #  <id>:<runlevels>:<action>:<process>
    #
    # Note that on most Debian systems tty7 is used by the X Window System,
    # so if you want to add more getty's go ahead but skip tty7 if you run X.
    #
    1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1
    2:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
    3:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
    4:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty4
    5:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty5
    6:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty6
    
    # Example how to put a getty on a serial line (for a terminal)
    #
    #T0:23:respawn:/sbin/getty -L ttyS0 9600 vt100
    #T1:23:respawn:/sbin/getty -L ttyS1 9600 vt100
    
    # Example how to put a getty on a modem line.
    #
    #T3:23:respawn:/sbin/mgetty -x0 -s 57600 ttyS3
    Last edited by bigtomrodney; 04-22-2007 at 04:10 PM.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,132
    It seems you are running in init level 2, which is a normal for Debian. What desktop environment are you running - Gnome, KDE...?

    What happens when you try ctrl+alt+F2, ctrl+alt+F3 etc?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    19
    Gnome, and when I hit ctrl-alt-f<anything> it results in a black, blank screen from which the only escape is a ctrl-alt-delete

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    19
    The thing I am wondering is is it because this vidcard has two digital outputs? perhaps it's my ATI 650 TV Wonder card, or perhaps the Sceptre 19" LCD monitor having issues, because it did this same thing in Fedora 6 and 7 only it could never get to X so I scrapped Fedora and went with Debian which at least works.....

  10. #10
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    484
    try a blind login
    change back to X
    and run the who command in a terminal

    if you see a line in the output which contain ttyX coloumn you can login just can't see anything , maybe your terminal colours is black on black

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •