Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, linux newbie here looking for help with an install problem. I downloaded via BT the full DVD ISO's for etch/AMD64, and installed to a clean hard disk. From reading, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Fresh Debian Install - Kde loading to blank screen

Hi, linux newbie here looking for help with an install problem.

I downloaded via BT the full DVD ISO's for etch/AMD64, and installed to a clean hard disk. From reading, I decided I might like KDE over Gnome, so I followed the installation instructions here (http://www.us.debian.org/releases/st...stall-software) and typed at the boot prompt
    Code:
    install tasks="standard, kde-desktop"
    The install appeared to go without a hitch, but upon rebooting, immediately after the boot sequence hits the line that loads KDE (I don't have it in front of me, but I think it says something like "initializing K Desktop Environment"), the screen goes blank. I let it sit there for about 3 minutes, then tried rebooting the system, same result. Tried double tapping ctrl-alt-del, various combinations of escape and ctr/alt, nothing happened.

I'm running somewhat new hardware, but not bleeding edge, so I'd be surprised if it was lack of driver support for my video card (powercolor 9800XT) or monitor (samsung 17" with digital connect, don't have model # with me), both going on 3 yrs old.

Thanks very much for any help or suggestions.

Perhaps you can try to boot in "Recovery mode" (at boot prompt), and then reconfigure the X server:
    Code:
    dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
    and choose the proper driver for your card, ie radeon (or ati, or vesa).
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

-Bruce Lee

Just Joined!