Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
anyone know how to printscreen in linux?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    10

    screen dump


    anyone know how to printscreen in linux?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    X has a graphics editor called "The Gimp".

    In Redhat 8 (Gimp version 1.2), go to the file menu, click "Aquire" then click "Screen Shot".

    In previous versions, i beleive it was under the Xtns Menu.

    Jason

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    10
    i looked in and i couldn;t find the program that u mentioned.
    i'm runing red hat 7.3

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    the application homepage is here: http://www.gimp.org/

    Download it from here: http://www.gimp.org/download.html

    Remember to read the installation documentation before trying to install.

    Jason

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    82
    A lot of distro's that have GUI's running seem to include a 'screen capture program'

    Its been there in all 6 of the distro's ive tried. I guess it wouldn't have been if you didn't select to have it installed though :P

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    import -window root screenshot.png can also take a screenshot

  7. #7
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    Well I can tell you in RH 8 its installed by default and you just press the Print Screen key or Prt Scrn key. Have you checked RH site ?

    I also am currently using RH 8 as a workstation setup with some server stuff installed.
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  8. #8
    Linux User Mado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    255
    yeah, I'm running RH8 and gnome and all I have to do is hit print screen too.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •