Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
Hi everbody, I am trying to install the Fedoar 6 on Aspire 5500 Laptop. Just after booting screen goes blank. Nothing displays? can anybody help me to install. Hardware details ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    32

    Install fedora 6 on aspire 5500


    Hi everbody,

    I am trying to install the Fedoar 6 on Aspire 5500 Laptop. Just after booting screen goes blank. Nothing displays? can anybody help me to install.

    Hardware details are 14.1 WXGA and ATI Mobility RAdeon X700

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Try using some of the boot options available to you through the F-keys right before the CD begins to boot. I'd first try the options like vga=normal, acpi=off, noapci, etc.

    Let us know how it goes.
    oz

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by Ravime
    Just after booting screen goes blank. Nothing displays?
    Does it display boot: prompt? How did you burn installation CD/DVD?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this
    Code:
    system-config-display
    Reconfigure Resolution and Display settings. In case it doesn't work, post the contents of xorg.conf file here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    32

    DVD burn is proper

    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    Does it display boot: prompt? How did you burn installation CD/DVD?
    DVD used to install, burned properly, no doubt. The same DVD used to install FC6 hp500 laptop. Installation is done successfully.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Okk ! Its a Graphics Card problem. When screen goes blank, press Alt+Ctrl+F1. Does it drop you at command line login prompt? If yes, log in as root and execute this
    Code:
    system-config-display
    Reconfigure display settings.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    Okk ! Its a Graphics Card problem. When screen goes blank, press Alt+Ctrl+F1. Does it drop you at command line login prompt? If yes, log in as root and execute this
    Code:
    system-config-display
    Reconfigure display settings.

    Sorry, Successful installation can be done on HP-500 laptop(Just to cofirm DVD used is burned properly, I have said) .

    But the installation problem is with Aspire-5500 Laptop. When I start installing FC6 on Aspire 5500, sytem boots up, installtion will not continue, screen goes blank.

    Thanks for any input

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Thats strange. It should display boot: prompt at least because Startup screen uses minimal resolution and generic graphics driver. Try any other installation or LiveCD. Check if those behave in similar manner.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    Thats strange. It should display boot: prompt at least because Startup screen uses minimal resolution and generic graphics driver. Try any other installation or LiveCD. Check if those behave in similar manner.
    System will start, boot up, also does and dispalys

    Running Anconda Fedora Core Installer Please wait
    Probing for Video Card ATI: Technologies Inc Radeon Mobility X700 (PCIE)
    Waiting for Xserver to start.............

    Then it goes balnk.

    It is clear indication that Fedora 6, can't able to start the X-server on Aspire-5500. So nothinhg displayed.

    But I can atleast install FC4 successfully, but cant start X-server. Eaither by changing resolution or VGA normal mode , acpi off or acpi on anything also by changing the xorg.conf file.

    Please Give any input related to this I will try. and post the results.

  10. #10
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Fedora 7 might have better hardware support. Have you tried it yet?
    oz

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •