Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I have a web server on which I want to run a graphical program (that can also be made to do things from the command line). So I understand I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5

    startx not working.


    I have a web server on which I want to run a graphical program (that can also be made to do things from the command line). So I understand I need to run startx first to allow this. Problem is it keeps giving the errors below. I think the problem line is the on about no being able to find the config file. But I am not sure where this is supposed to go or what goes in it. Here is the results I get from running startx

    xauth: creating new authority file /root/.serverauth.13514
    X Window System Version 7.1.1
    Release Date: 12 May 2006
    X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 7.1.1
    Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.9-42.0.10.ELsmp i686 Red Hat, Inc.
    Current Operating System: Linux air321.startdedicated.com 2.6.18-8.1.14.el5 #1 SMP Thu Sep 27 18:58:54 EDT 2007 i686
    Build Date: 09 April 2007
    Build ID: xorg-x11-server 1.1.1-48.13.0.1.el5
    Before reporting problems, check X.Org Wiki - Home
    to make sure that you have the latest version.
    Module Loader present
    Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
    (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
    (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
    (==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Thu Nov 29 17:35:46 2007
    (EE) Unable to locate/open config file
    New driver is "savage"
    (==) Using default built-in configuration (55 lines)
    (EE) Failed to load module "savage" (module does not exist, 0)
    (EE) Failed to load module "fbdev" (module does not exist, 0)
    (EE) Failed to load module "vga" (module does not exist, 0)
    (WW) VESA(0): Failed to set up write-combining range (0xd8400000,0x2f0000)
    (WW) VESA(0): Failed to set up write-combining range (0xd8000000,0x6f0000)
    (EE) AIGLX: Screen 0 is not DRI capable
    Could not init font path element unix/:7100, removing from list!
    localuser:root being added to access control list
    No profile for user 'root' found

    waiting for X server to shut down FreeFontPath: FPE "built-ins" refcount is 2, should be 1; fixing.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    You have to recompile your kernel and add:
    Code:
    (EE) Failed to load module "savage" (module does not exist, 0)
    (EE) Failed to load module "fbdev" (module does not exist, 0)
    (EE) Failed to load module "vga" (module does not exist, 0)
    Some Modules
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    can you recommend a good tutorial on how to do that on a remote machine?

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Well, the normal thing should work if you use SSH
    You know you dont have to install kde or something if you want Graphical
    If you just install your Graphical program on the box.

    You can connect to it using:
    ssh -2 -c blowfish -X name@domain

    to tunnel X
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    I know that GROHE (not installed) is not needed. Just startx I am told.

    I never complied a kernel before. So suppose I will just Google it.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    You dont need startx.
    You will need X11 librarys but you dont need startx.

    As long as you run X11 on the PC that you run the ssh tunnel from.
    Compiling a kernel is really easy.
    Get the kernel source.
    and do "make && makeconfig"
    then you make it
    Then you'll copy the bzImage to the boot.

    Well, but you wont need that.
    you can just do that with SSH X11 tunneling
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    But I don't think SSH tunnelling or what ever it is is what I want. Ultimately I want to control the graphical program from the command line using some form of scripting. That it is a graphical program at all is turning out to be a bit of a nuisance. It will be loosely linked to the back end of a web site I am working on, and will process some data.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    I think I found the solution in a program called Xvfb that creates a virtual graphical environment.

    Thanks for you help anyway.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •