Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey all, I am new to linux and this is my first post on linuxforums.org, Shame its a boring one! I installed Mandrake Linux on my Laptop which is a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Snowing In X !

Hey all,

I am new to linux and this is my first post on linuxforums.org, Shame its a boring one!

I installed Mandrake Linux on my Laptop which is a Toshiba Satellite 2670DVD with a Trident Cyber 9525 Video card.

Anyway the issue I am having is after I configure X using xf86config it works fine however I have 'snow' or 'fuzz' all over my screen it all looks so pixally.

What I dont understand is when I installed Mandrake I got to the part of the installl where I configure X and it gives me the option if I want to use a X 3.x.x style config fiile or a X 4.x.x style config file and it also asks me if i want to use a flat panel which the average xf86config wont!.

Anyway what I noticed was when I used the X 3.x.x style conf file it worked ! No snow or fuzz! So I kept on using my lovely looking Xfree.

However when I went to Slackware 9.0 my X life was shattered It did not give me as many configuration options for a laptop os madrake did! Now I am stuck on Links in the command prompt thhingo my X will start fine but It just looks shocking with the snow and the fuzz!

Anyone got any Ideas of what I could do or maybe even where I could get a more laptop friendly XF86Configurator ? I have already found a web site called Linux on Laptops but it didnt provide me with any answers! Ill keep lookin in the meantime

Thanks

rising_sun

Linux Guru
    It sounds as if the monitor settings are wrong.
    Try running XFree86 -configure, and then test the config file it generates (it gives you instructions on how to do that itself), and see if that also makes it snow.

Just Joined!
    Hmmmmmmm.