Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hey, I am using export command quite regularly at my workplace+home, but when I got to using it at school I cannot do so. export DISPLAY=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:0.0 export: Command not found. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    5

    export command not found


    Hey,

    I am using export command quite regularly at my workplace+home, but when I got to using it at school I cannot do so.

    export DISPLAY=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:0.0
    export: Command not found.

    This is the usual way I use it in addtion to XWin server on my Windows side. This distribution that is installed at school is RH8.0.

    So my next course of action was to find out where that export command is

    and

    which export returns a not found in any of my $PATH directories

    so where the hell is it?

    locate export

    returned mambojambo amount of records, but no export

    so that's where I am

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Maybe you are not allowed to use the export command on those boxen? Check with your system admin. Sounds like a permissions thing.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    116
    Quote Originally Posted by sarumont
    Maybe you are not allowed to use the export command on those boxen? Check with your system admin. Sounds like a permissions thing.
    sarumount,
    How can we enable/disable built-in commands ? please point me to some good links or tutorials
    NEVER stop/pause Journey of Learning -Travelling Soldier ( Me )

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    232
    man chown
    man chgrp
    man chmod
    man umask
    man stat
    man chattr
    That should give you a place to start.
    OH NOOOOO!!!!!! You did it the way I said?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    5
    HAHAHAHHAHHHHAHAHAHA

    I though i was using bash, but I was using tcsh
    so instead of export it is SETENV!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hahahahahhaa I am total idiot. It is obvious like day light.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Lol...I hate it when that happens.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •