Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 43
Know how to install a OS over a Network? lol. Just wondering is all, don't need to know how, but if you do know how that'd be sweet!...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    47

    Know how to install a OS over a Network? lol. Just wondering is all, don't need to know how, but if you do know how that'd be sweet!

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    47
    I just installed Kubuntu 7.10 CD edition along side XP, and when I try to login, the screen goes black then it goes right back to the login screen.

    Heres what I did. Popped in "GParted" disc. Split my 80GB HDD in half.
    Popped in Kubuntu 7.10. On Partition part I clicked resize/something hda2. I moved the % bar to 100%. It said it had a swap and something else. )#3 and #5 partions). It installed all the way and now I'm at where I am now. Not able to login. I can still boot up into XP. Its just Kubuntu Won't login..
    Thanks In Advance

    just tried this, still same thing
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove language-pack-kde-en

  3. #13
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Press Alt+Ctrl+F1. Does it drop you at command line login prompt?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    47
    Yeah, i logged in, removed them, didn't work. I tried
    Code:
    sudo qt-language-select --mode select
    that doesn't work at all.. alos tried a something like this.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    and
    Code:
    sudo apt-get upgrade
    . when I click upgrade it says not enough space.. so I'm led to beleive i messed up in the portioning with linux haha. so.. what would it be for a 40gb hdd?

    *edit 40GB*

  5. #15
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this
    Code:
    sudo apt-get clean all
    df -h 
    sudo fdisk -l
    * Its small L in fdisk -l.
    Post output here.

    Have you tried to reconfigure display settings?
    Execute this
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
    Have you installed nVidia Driver?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    47
    One sec, don't wanna waste time. so I'm pretty sure this is wrong.

    /dev/hda1 ntfs Windows Xp 41,940mb used 5,100 mb
    /dev/hda2 ntfs ??????????? 35,730mb used 68 mb
    /dev/hda3 ext3 ??????????? 2,187mb used 2,200 mb
    /dev/hda5 swap ?????????? 172mb used 0 mb

    *looking at this, it looks like that the partion i was wanting to use for linux just got left out..*

    **right now I'm at the partitioning screen on the live install as we speak now**

  7. #17
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    You assigned just 2GB+ Space for / and 172 MB for SWAP. This is definitely very less space. 6-8GB is recommended.
    Is it a output of df -h command?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    47
    nah, i was fixing to reinstall and seen that so i just type it out. so im guessing delete partitions 2,3,5. make 2 again on a size about 36gb file type of ext3, and make a swap of 2gb right?

    ok i got it like this: but just want you to verify it before i go.

    /dev/hda1 ntfs Windows Xp 41,940mb used 5,100 mb
    /dev/hda2 ext3 Kubuntu 36,002mb used
    /dev/hda3 swap Kubuntu 2,089mb used

  9. #19
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Delete /dev/sda2, 3 and 5 partitions. I am a bit confused here. Which one is Extended Partition? /dev/sda5 is Logical Partition but its not listing any exetended partition. Post the output of sudo fdisk -l command here. i think its /dev/sda4.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    47
    crap didn't see you had posted.. so i had just clicked enter.. with the following setup:

    /dev/hda1 ntfs Windows Xp 41,940mb used 5,100 mb
    /dev/hda2 ext3 Kubuntu 36,002mb used
    /dev/hda3 swap Kubuntu 2,089mb used

    hda2 and hda3 are both primary drives. hda2 is "/" and hda3 is swap

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •