Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Hello Everyone While attempting to run /usr/bin/Terminal from within XFCE on Zenwalk 5.0 X crashes and im given the error: -------------------------------------------------------------------- Unable to register terminal service: Did not receive a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! oneill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    7

    terminal crashes X


    Hello Everyone

    While attempting to run /usr/bin/Terminal from within XFCE on Zenwalk 5.0
    X crashes and im given the error:
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Unable to register terminal service: Did not receive a reply.
    Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply,
    the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired,
    or the network connection was broken.
    Terminal: Fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server :0.0.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

    I am then returned back to the graphical login. After loging back in again
    viewing /var/log/Xorg.log.old shows:

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------
    ...
    Backtrace:
    ...
    17: /usr/bin/X(main+0x496) [0x806dca6]
    18: /lib/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xdc) [0xb7c6036c]
    19: /usr/bin/X(FontFileCompleteXLFD+0x201) [0x806cfd1]

    Fatal server error:
    Caught signal 11. Server aborting
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------

    Iím wondering if anyone else has had this problem, and knows how this
    can be remedied, I donít have a clue. Please can anyone enlighten me?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    I remember there being some kind of bug that was causing terminal crashes for some XFCE4 users. I think the temporary fix was to go with 16 as the default color depth rather than 24 in your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file.

    Let us know if that works.
    oz

  3. #3
    Just Joined! oneill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    7
    Thank you oz i'll give it a go, i'll let you know if it works. Cheers

  4. #4
    Just Joined! oneill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    7
    yer i tryed that i did'nt work. the screen went nuts i have XFCE 4.4 by the way.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post the contents of /etc/X11/xorg.conf file here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined! oneill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    7
    hi devils_casper sorry for the delay in posting, i dont have the net at home. Below is a copy of /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Files section -- This allows default font and rgb paths to be set
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "Files"
    RgbPath "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
    ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    EndSection

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Module section -- this section is used to specify
    # which dynamically loadable modules to load.
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "Module"
    Load "synaptics"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "record"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "xtrap"
    Load "dri"
    Load "GLcore"
    Load "glx"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "type1"
    EndSection

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Server flags section
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "ServerFlags"
    # Option "NoTrapSignals"
    # Option "DontVTSwitch"
    # Option "DontZap"
    # Option "DontZoom"
    # Option "DisableVidModeExtension"
    # Option "AllowNonLocalXvidtune"
    # Option "DisableModInDev"
    # Option "AllowNonLocalModInDev"
    # Option "blank time" "10" # 10 minutes
    # Option "standby time" "20"
    # Option "suspend time" "30"
    # Option "off time" "60"

    # Option "EstimateSizesAggresively" "0"

    EndSection


    # ************************************************** ********************
    # DRI section
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "dri"
    # Access to OpenGL ICD is allowed for all users:
    Mode 0666
    # Access to OpenGL ICD is restricted to a specific user group:
    # Group 100 # users
    EndSection


    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Extensions section
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Enable"
    EndSection


    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Keyboard section
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard1"
    Driver "kbd"
    # Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"
    # Option "AutoRepeat" "500 5"
    # Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
    # Option "XkbDisable"

    Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
    # Option "XkbVariant" "us"
    Option "XkbOptions" ""
    EndSection


    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Pointers section
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "InputDevice"

    # Identifier and driver
    Identifier "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "Auto"
    Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
    # Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"
    # Option "BaudRate" "9600"
    # Option "SampleRate" "150"
    # Option "Emulate3Buttons"
    # Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
    # Option "ChordMiddle"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Pad1"
    Driver "synaptics"
    Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/ts0"
    Option "LeftEdge" "1700"
    Option "RightEdge" "5300"
    Option "TopEdge" "1700"
    Option "BottomEdge" "4200"
    Option "FingerLow" "25"
    Option "FingerHigh" "30"
    Option "MaxTapTime" "180"
    Option "MaxTapMove" "220"
    Option "VertScrollDelta" "100"
    Option "MinSpeed" "0.09"
    Option "MaxSpeed" "0.18"
    Option "AccelFactor" "0.0015"
    Option "SHMConfig" "on"
    EndSection


    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Monitor section
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor1"
    VendorName "MEI"
    ModelName "34c"

    Modeline "1024x768_74.927" 80.000000 1024 1056 1152 1328 768 771 774 804 -HSync -VSync

    ### Comment all HorizSync and VertRefresh values to use DDC:
    HorizSync 30.0 - 70.0
    ### Comment all HorizSync and VertRefresh values to use DDC:
    VertRefresh 50.0 - 180.0

    Option "DPMS"
    Option "ReducedBlanking"

    EndSection


    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Graphic devices section
    # ************************************************** ********************

    # Any number of graphic devices sections may be present

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard1"
    VendorName "Intel Corporation"
    BoardName "82810 (CGC) Chipset Graphics Controller"
    Driver "intel"
    BusID "PCI:0:1:0"
    Option "RenderAccel" "true"
    EndSection

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Screen section
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Videoconfig"
    Device "Videocard1"
    Monitor "Monitor1"

    DefaultDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1024x768_74.927" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768_74.927" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1024x768_74.927" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 32
    Modes "1024x768_74.927" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    EndSection

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # ServerLayout section
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Simple Layout"
    Screen "Videoconfig"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Pad1" "SendCoreEvents"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Videoconfig"
    Device "Videocard1"
    Monitor "Monitor1"

    DefaultDepth 24
    Have you tried setting DefaultDepth 16 as suggested by ozar already?

    In case it doesn't work, try using vesa driver instead of intel.
    Code:
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier     "Videocard1"
    	VendorName  "Intel Corporation"
    	BoardName   "82810 (CGC) Chipset Graphics Controller"
    	Driver     "vesa"
    	BusID       "PCI:0:1:0"
    	Option "RenderAccel" "true"
    EndSection
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Just Joined! oneill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    7
    i tryed setting the default to 16 it never worked, i'll try using vesa driver. Cheers Casper.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Do let me know how it goes. Good Luck !
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #10
    Just Joined! oneill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    7
    Iíve tried it, no luck Iím afraid, the resolution was to small (600 x 400) and this was the only setting offered by the display setting via XFCE. However terminal did start. Iíve provide a screenshot. I then tried other screen resolutions and refresh rates using the Intel driver and in all cases X still crashes crashes.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •