Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Why cant i start some applications (sometimes) on Gnome..İ just cant ..why this is could be? nothing happens..nothing.. thX...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Istanbul/Türkiye
    Posts
    246

    why?


    Why cant i start some applications (sometimes) on Gnome..İ just cant ..why this is could be? nothing happens..nothing..
    thX
    Just a Newbie....Looking 4 Info....

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Try starting them in a terminal and see if they say anything.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    can u plz use a more descriptive subject line next time

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    621
    Dolda and majorwoo have had a decent number of jabs at each other about that. No one really reads the subject. They are too small (after you are viewing the topic) to care about.
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Istanbul/Türkiye
    Posts
    246

    ok ill

    I ll be more explainful next time...
    How can i start them from console....

    just start appname?
    Just a Newbie....Looking 4 Info....

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    621
    open a console (gnome-terminal or konsole) and type "gedit" at the command line. This will give you any errors gedit produces.
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Istanbul/Türkiye
    Posts
    246

    i ve found

    I ve found why i couldnt start Tux or other games.(there is no problems with applications.) the problem was related gl libraries..i check the files gl.h glx.h and gltokens.h and replace them with the newer ones that come with NV..so now i can play tuxx and other games but i still cant install Quake or a game like this..i wonder how..which rpm or tar.gz fıle do i need.or files i need?

    i look idsoftware but there is so much file, which one?
    Just a Newbie....Looking 4 Info....

  8. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Well, it's a bit hard to solve a problem without knowing what errors you get. What really happens when you try to install quake?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •