Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all I'm a Java programmer who's rather new to Linux. I'm working on some code where I need to create a window similar to the drag images used during ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Visually-transparent & Input-transparent Windows

Hi all

I'm a Java programmer who's rather new to Linux. I'm working on some code where I need to create a window similar to the drag images used during drag and drop on Windows 2000 or Mac OS. In other words, I need to create a window which
    1. Is visually translucent/transparent. This is the usual alpha blending that composes a foreground image with a background image, while allowing the background image to be visible "through" the foreground image.
    2. Is transparent to mouse events, in other words the window accepts no mouse events and all such event are passed through to whatever lies underneath.

I know how to do this rather painlessly in Windows (using WS_EX_LAYERED and WS_EX_TRANSPARENT). But I'm really battling to even get started in Linux, because I can't seem to find any documentation! As a complete Linux novice, I admit I'm not quite sure where to look. I have found two leads so far. The first is the window property

_NET_WM_WINDOW_OPACITY

which is set on a window with XChangeProperty. I cannot find any hard documentation on what this actually does - all I know is it "makes the window translucent if there is a compositing window manager installed". The second lead is

_NET_WM_WINDOW_TYPE

which is also changed with XChangeProperty. Here things get even more vague, since there are (at least?) 8 window "TYPES" namely
    Code:
    _NET_WM_WINDOW_TYPE_DESKTOP
    _NET_WM_WINDOW_TYPE_DOCK
    _NET_WM_WINDOW_TYPE_TOOLBAR
    _NET_WM_WINDOW_TYPE_MENU
    _NET_WM_WINDOW_TYPE_UTILITY
    _NET_WM_WINDOW_TYPE_SPLASH
    _NET_WM_WINDOW_TYPE_DIALOG
    _NET_WM_WINDOW_TYPE_NORMAL