Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm rather new to Linux, as all I've used are Ubuntu and Xubuntu (and looked at DSL). I'm working on compiling a Gentoo installation, and I was just wondering: Are ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question X alternatives?

I'm rather new to Linux, as all I've used are Ubuntu and Xubuntu (and looked at DSL). I'm working on compiling a Gentoo installation, and I was just wondering:

Are there any alternatives to the X Window system?
    Are they any good?
    Are they compatible with the X Window system?
    How hard to use are they?
    and:
    Where can I get them?

Thx!

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

Check this article and drop down to the "Competitors to X" section to see some of what is out there.

Hope it helps.
    oz

Linux Guru
    Your question is too general, what make me wonder if you really meant what you said, or not.

X is the graphics server, and you usually don't interact with it directly, so, the answer to this question:

How hard to use are they?
    Is non-relevant, because you really interact with your Desktop Environment or your Window Manager, which is an independent layer and has nothing to do with the server itself.

Are there any alternatives to the X Window system?
    The standard nowadays is Xorg. There's also XFree. And minimal servers like Kdrive. There might be many other servers implementing the X protocol to a more or less compatible degree. I never bothered with them.

Are they any good?
    Since we have no clue of what the purpose of your question is, I can't really tell you. But if you are looking for a modern desktop system, your natural choice is Xorg, since it's where you will find all the latest extensions like compositing, which is needed for the fancy desktop effects that we see nowadays.

Are they compatible with the X Window system?