Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello all, Right I finally decided to try and learn how to use Linux. Friend pointed out that RedHat was a good one to start with. Please forgive me but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newbie Upgraded XFree86 4.2.0 to 4.3.0 problems now with X

Hello all,

Right I finally decided to try and learn how to use Linux. Friend pointed out that RedHat was a good one to start with. Please forgive me but I am very new to this so I know NOTHING!!!!!

This is what I have achieved so far:-

1. Downloaded the 3 iso's burned them onto CD (Took 18 hours to do that)
    2. Downloaded the Docs iso and the 2 source iso's (More time, for future use)
    3. Burned them onto CD's (I was impressed with myself)
    4. Made some nice lables to lable them all, stuck to newly burned CD's

5. Have 40Gb hard drive, want 2 dual boot to run 20Gb with W98SE and 20GB with linux (cos i need the W98SE for a networked XP PC + will learn more I think)
    6. Could not partition the drive so have accepted a loss of 8Gb due to W98SE fat32 will not see the last bit.
    7. Now have 16Gb for W98SE and 16Gb for Linux

8. Installed W98SE along with needed software and it runs well enough
    9. Installed RadHat Linux version 8.0 (Install process checked all cds and they are ok)
    10. Installed as a workstaion with both X systems (KDE and KNome I think you call them)

11. Was impressed that i got this far!!! What I wanted to do next is to install the NVIDIA drivers from the Nvidia web site because my computer ran very slow and the extra games Chromium crashed the computer.
    12. Spent a good week trying to work out which drivers i needed and then many attempts to install them. The Linux lA32 driver seemd to work in the end
    13. Configured the /etc/X11/X86Config file to include the glx and nvidia bits and removed the other bits that it said to do.