Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hello all, I use Arch linux nowerdays I love it but I had this small problem under my box. I installed arch, installed ndiswrapper and then I installed xorg and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429

    [SOLVED] Nvidia Drivers in ARCH linux?


    Hello all,

    I use Arch linux nowerdays I love it but I had this small problem under my box.

    I installed arch, installed ndiswrapper and then I installed xorg and Openbox.

    But I still need to install the nvidia drivers.

    So i do: pacman -S nvidia like the Guide says.

    And I get:
    Error: ndiswrapper needs < kernel 2.5.25 (or something simulair (I can't copy it from my Screen since I am in Windows Now).


    Does anyone have the slighest clue how to install the DriverS?
    Thanks

    Robin
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Are you specifically trying to install them using pacman? I'm pretty sure this method works just fine in ARCH.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    No I tried it the pacman way.

    pacman -S nvidia
    Since that should just work right??
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by RobinVossen View Post
    No I tried it the pacman way.

    pacman -S nvidia
    Since that should just work right??
    I don't have the foggiest idea. The point I'm trying to make is that if you can't figure out the pacman way, the manual way is still viable.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #5
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    During the almost 4 years I've been running Arch, I've never installed ndiswrapper so I don't know anything about that, but installing nvidia drivers has always worked with:
    Code:
    pacman -S nvidia
    So the command you used appears to be correct.
    oz

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    well it doesnt work for me

    I am wondering. Since when I try to do a System Update pacman -Su I also get a Error.
    I think I have a Kernel Problem of some kind. I did use the Pre-Made Kernel to save sometime..

    Does that help in answering the question?

    Cheers,
    Robin
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  8. #7
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    You might want to try installing the latest kernel before installing the nvidia drivers, if you haven't done so already.

    Edit: Never mind, I see that ndiswrapper wants an older kernel. I've never used ndiswrapper on any distro so don't know why it might want to use old kernels.
    oz

  9. #8
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    It appears that you might have installed the wrong version of ndiswrapper according to the current page for that package:

    Pkg: ndiswrapper - Arch Linux Package Details

    It says there:

    Code:
    # kernel26<2.6.28
    # kernel26>=2.6.27
    oz

  10. #9
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    If needed, you can install the latest kernel and ndiswrapper locally if you will download the latest versions along with any needed dependencies and then install them with:

    Code:
    pacman -U /path/to/package
    oz

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Thanks that did lead to a Fix.

    What I did to fix:

    First I uninstalled ndiswrapper [While it was still running, since I did Need it for inet]
    Then I reinstalled ndiswrapper
    I rebooted done.


    When I did a upgrade to ndiswrapper I got a bunch of Errors.

    I hope this helps other people aswell.


    Thanks guys =)
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •