Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi there everyone, I am a newbie in the world of X11 and I am trying to find out the simplest and most efficient solution for this rather unique issue ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Hi there, question on Touch Screen and the X11 Server

Hi there everyone,

I am a newbie in the world of X11 and I am trying to find out the simplest and most efficient solution for this rather unique issue I am addressing.

Basically, this embeded system I am working on uses a kdrive X11 (KDrive - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia) that is integrated into a 2.6.18 Debian Linux kernel. This system does not use the xorg.conf for configuration and does not seem to have an active X server running. The embedded box has an HDMI output for display and has USB and serial ports.

So this is where my issue resides. I am trying to get several touch screen monitors to work with this embedded box.

I am looking into screens made by vendors such as 3M and Elo , and the way their Linux drivers work is to have an X11 touch-screen module ( usually .o file placed under /usr/lib/xorg/modules/input/ ) and adding an InputDevice entry for the touchscreen in the xorg.conf file. An example of what I describe for the touch driver installation process is right here for a 3M touch screen : Xorg Touchscreen Driver

Now, if my kdrive X11 does not even use an xorg.conf file or an active X11 server, I am trying to find a workaround solution, and here are two that I am considering :