Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I wanted to know what do I need to have a basic linux desktop. What I want is - let's say I do a base install of debian using ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy basic linux desktop

Hi,

I wanted to know what do I need to have a basic linux desktop. What I want is - let's say I do a base install of debian using a netinstall disk (without xserver) then what I need is a wallpaper, all other stats can be obtained by using conky a taskbar, system tray and a right click menu. I don't want to install all the applets and xorg-xserver-<drivers for hardware i don't have> etc

I don't understand why you need to have so many different components for a DE. I use linux on a spare computer since I am new to linux. When I do xf<Tab><Tab> there are so many things that show up I don't even know what is what (I use Xfce). Another reason I want to get rid of it is because it is a old computer and a lighter system would help.

When can I find easy to understand info about desktop environments? Most documentation is hard to understand for newbies. KDE and GNOME had so many applications in the package it just puts me off when I look at the list itself.

oz
    forum.guy
    You might want to check out KDEmod because you can install individual KDE packages rather than the complete environment. It uses Arch Linux as it's underlying distribution, however.
    oz

oz
    forum.guy
    If you don't need or want a full-blown DE, you might also check out a few simple window managers such as Openbox, Fluxbox, Pekwm, etc.

Check here for more info on the various DE's, and WM's:

Window Managers for X
    oz

You need xorg and xserver to have a graphical user interface. As I recall, in Debian, the xorg virtual package pulls all of the drivers for various hardware components. You should be able to remove the unneeded components.