Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
I ran into this problem where I can only mount my CD/DVD-ROM drive if there is a DVD in the drive. If I try to mount a CD I get ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    29

    Newbie: CD/DVD-Rom cant mount


    I ran into this problem where I can only mount my CD/DVD-ROM drive if there is a DVD in the drive. If I try to mount a CD I get this error:

    Could not mount device

    The reported error was

    /dev/dvd: input/output error

    mount: I could not determine the filesystem type
    and none was specified.

    SuSE.com supposedly has a fix for this telling me to log in as root and enter the command ln -sf /dev/sr0 /dev/cdrom but this does NOTHING!!!

    after using that command though when I change my cd/dvd-rom properties in the device tab i change the device to dev/cdrom and I get this error

    Could not mound device

    The reported error was

    Too many levels of symbolic link


    So please tell me what the !@#$ i am supposed to do???

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Are you sure that you didn't accidently run ln -sf /mnt/cdrom /dev/sr0 instead? That would explain why you get too many levels of symlinks. Could you post the output of these commands?
    Code:
    ls -l /dev/{cdrom,dvd,sr0,scd0}
    grep ide-scsi /etc/modules.conf /proc/modules
    cat /proc/cmdline
    You must be root for this to work.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    29

    yeah

    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8 May 7 15:40 /dev/cdrom -> /dev/sr0
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8 May 6 22:59 /dev/dvd -> /dev/hdc
    brw-r----- 1 root disk 11, 0 Mar 23 2002 /dev/scd0
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8 May 7 15:28 /dev/sr0 -> /dev/sr0

    and

    auto BOOT_IMAGE=linux ro root=301

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Sorry, can you give me the output of some other commands?
    Code:
    for file in /proc/ide/ide?/hd?; do echo $file; cat $file/driver; done
    grep cdrom /etc/fstab

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    29
    ummm could you break that down for me? i have NO idea what you just said

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Just run the commands I wrote there, and then post the output the give you back here, just like you did the last time.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    29
    could you write it in a manner so i can just copy and paste this time? cause im a total newbie

  9. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    What's wrong with how I wrote it? It's just as copyable as anything else.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    29
    well you wrote it with place holders and I dont know what goes in those places

  11. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    No, I didn't write it with place holders, I wrote it precisely as they should be run.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •