Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Forgive me if this has been answered before. I'm a noob and may misunderstand some of what I've been reading. I understand that there are clients that do the remote ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Windows to Linux server to Windows desktop RDC

Forgive me if this has been answered before. I'm a noob and may misunderstand some of what I've been reading.

I understand that there are clients that do the remote desktop thing between Linux servers and Windows clients and vice versa. My question is whether there is anything that will make both the Windows to Linux connection and a Windows/Windows RDC?

We have a network server which is RedHat Linux with Samba, however our desktops are all PCs with OS ranging from Win2000 to Vista. We would like to have client remote desktop access that would allow for our workers to access both the network drives (where most of our docs are stored) AND operate applications on their own desktops from their home PCs and laptops (OS also ranging the same as above). Is there any software that can do all of this? If we can get email access and collaborative calendaring out of all this, so much the better.

Thanks for your patience and help.

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    VNC works well for remote desktop sharing. I use it for remote desktop sharing on Linux -> Windows -> Windows -> Linux all the time. In any case, remote desktop software isn't needed to share files - samba (cifs) works well for that in both directions, or for email/calendaring applications. If the documents are in a format that the Windows system can use (Open Office or MS Office), then you can access them from Windows just like they were local files, or copy them down to Windows, edit them, and copy the changed files back to the server. Your choice how to manage that.