Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Oy, Some Major issues here... KDE is (as the subject says) COMPLETELY messed up. It is messed up beyond recognition. There are no scroll bars, no check boxes/radio boxes, no ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035

    KDE is completely messed up


    Oy,
    Some Major issues here...
    KDE is (as the subject says) COMPLETELY messed up. It is messed up beyond recognition. There are no scroll bars, no check boxes/radio boxes, no buttons, no borders, NOTHING. I've tried yoperconf and KDE Control Panel, but both to no avail. Here's what happened before all this happened:
    while in console on irssi, my system started CRAWLING, so i rebooted (my uptime had been almost a week!) and logged into KDE, as always. Then everything was messed up. that's when i decided to play with yoperconf and kde control panel, and nothing worked. then i tried FVWM and one other, and the same thing was wrong. does anybody have any idea what the %$^@ is going on?
    thanks a lot!
    -lakerdonald

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    okay, well i assume that the lack of replies means that nobody knows what i'm talking about? well lemme tell you some more:
    i've recently installed fluxbox, ICE, and blackbox, same problem. so i figures that this is a problem with X. how do i reinstall X and all its components?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13
    hello
    best you create another user and see whether KDE is messed up everywhere. if yes, reinstall KDE from the installation disks.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    it doesn't work for root either, and it's not just KDE. I'm talking about reinstalling X. any ideas how to go about this.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    dear christ! this is the strangest piece of shizznizzlebam EVER. now it works. fine. i didn't even do anything. dear christ it's acting like windows
    but still

    -lakerdonald

  6. #6
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    probably was a video card issue, that somehow sorted itself out.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    i don't think a card as old as mine can really have issues. they've had YEARS to work it out lol (think: neomagic framebuffer)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •