Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Can you have a virtual machine running windows vista/7 and be able to acess and change files (I am going to use my notebook instead of the schools netbooks and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    75

    Cool Ubuntu virtual machine


    Can you have a virtual machine running windows vista/7 and be able to acess and change files (I am going to use my notebook instead of the schools netbooks and I want to be able to dual boot AND have a windows vista/7 virtual machine), but I still need to access and change files (a ubuntu partition, a windows partition, a data partition, and a backup partition).
    Would it be possible (for free), and if so how?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    Virtualization software isn't really meant to run on laptops, you need a lot of memory and CPU power or else they will just crawl.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    75

    Red face It's fast, though

    Quote Originally Posted by coopstah13 View Post
    you need a lot of memory and CPU power or else they will just crawl.
    The laptop is fast. 2.56 Ghz dual core centrino, 4 GB ram, 400 GB S-ATA drive. Should I run one?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined! Tarthen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    40
    I ran a VM on an old Inspiron. It's possible.

    Your Ubunru partition can access the Windows partition fine. If you store the data you want on the Win partition, you don't need a VM. The VM will just be a seperate OS to the already-there Windows OS. And accessing data inside a virtual machine is only possible when the VM is running.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    75
    does that mean I can run windows/linux VM on the same settings with the same file as the actual OS

  7. #6
    Just Joined! Tarthen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by MattS View Post
    does that mean I can run windows/linux VM on the same settings with the same file as the actual OS
    No, you can't.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •