Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
just cant get it....any help would be approciated ,have spent the afternoon on it but just can't see the solution i have kde 4.2(sabayon) installed when i try to login ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7

    Kde 4.2 root logins are not allowed kdmrc


    just cant get it....any help would be approciated ,have spent the afternoon on it but just can't see the solution

    i have kde 4.2(sabayon) installed when i try to login as root i get
    a nice popup box saying "root logins are not allowed".
    i go to the /usr/kde/4.2/share/config/kdm find my kdmrc file
    and change AllowRootLogin=false to AllowRootLogin=true.

    RestartX trying to login as root,it does seem to try and i get no popup but after a few second i am back at the login screen.

    p.s.I now is not considered safe to login as root,lets not go there

  2. #2
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    /usr/kde/4.2/share/config/kdm
    This doesn't seem like the correct location for kdmrc.

    The usual default location is /etc/kde4/kdm/kdmrc, unless Sabayon changed it.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7
    Code:
    atithasos ~ # find / -name kdmrc
    /usr/kde/4.2/share/config/kdm/kdmrc
    atithasos ~ #
    i am afraid they did not change only the location...or at least it seems like it.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Well, you can always set up sudo to never ask for your password. Then you wouldn't be bothered by GUI apps using gksudo/kdesu asking for it.

    Sort of a balance between total insecurity and convenience.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7
    Well, you can always set up sudo to never ask for your password. Then you wouldn't be bothered by GUI apps using gksudo/kdesu asking for it.

    Sort of a balance between total insecurity and convenience.
    True,but this is getting personal. If i cant configure my own os the way i like then
    what is left for me in life??

    I did find something though i cann't interpret what it means.

    Code:
    atithasos config # du -sh /root/.kde4.2/share/
    40K     /root/.kde4.2/share/
    atithasos config #
    Code:
    kouvarle@atithasos ~/.kde4.2/share $ du -sh /home/kouvarle/.kde4.2/share/
    4.1M    /home/kouvarle/.kde4.2/share/
    kouvarle@atithasos ~/.kde4.2/share $
    does this mean kde is not installed for root?i have zero knowledge of
    guis.If not how do i install it?do su to root and apt what?


    In addition i am getting a dri module failure in my kdm.log but dont think it is related.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    No. ~/.kde4.2/share/ stored various application and configuration data. Since you're normally running as a user, that file is larger. Presumably, the only reason it exists in /root is because you launched something from the terminal as root at some point.

    You can try disabling kdm, logging into the console as root, and starting X from there.

    Beyond that, I don't know. I don't use Sabayon, KDE, or run as root. I am endlessly baffled by the number of people who passionately want to run an X session as root. It makes no sense.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,132
    Quote Originally Posted by reed9 View Post
    I am endlessly baffled by the number of people who passionately want to run an X session as root. It makes no sense.
    I've promised to never help anyone do it.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Quote Originally Posted by bigtomrodney View Post
    I've promised to never help anyone do it.
    I'm always torn. To an extent I agree with the OP. It's their computer and they should be able to use it as they like, even if it means doing something dumb. I'm not their dad, I'll help point 'em in the right direction. But, I won't help them fix it if things go wrong.

    Unless they're running Puppy, since that runs as root by default. However, if you are running Puppy as intended, ie a live CD or frugal install, you start with a fresh environment every boot, mitigating the risk. (The pupsav file if used notwithstanding.)

    Grafpup News Page Multi user support in Puppy and Grafpup Linux - my thoughts

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7
    Can't find it tried sabayon 5 with kde but i am still getting the same.
    I give up, switched to gnome.Thanks..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •