Find the answer to your Linux question:
The title sort of says it all, but let me explain my situation a bit more. Let me warn you that although I have done some semi-complex things with linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

program running on tty needs access to xwindow (no graphical user logged in)

The title sort of says it all, but let me explain my situation a bit more. Let me warn you that although I have done some semi-complex things with linux I'm still a newbie who doesnít understand anything except those few explicit things I've had to figure out (and sometimes I don't really understand them )

I have an application being installed by an RPM which must run in the background at all times, and must come up at bootup even if no one has logged in. I ended up deciding to create a user and automatically log that user on tty7 (which moved graphical mode to tty. The user has a line in his bash_profile that has him run our app and has very limited permissions other then sudo rights to run the app. I remember that there was a reason that I opted for having a user logged in rather then just putting my application in rc.5 to be run at bootup, something to do with other programs not being configured correctly when I attempted it that way, but I honestly can't recall what the reason was any more.

Anyways this method has been working for some time, but I'm running into some trouble with xhost. When the computer boots up it logs on the user I created to tty7 as it should and the user attempts to run the APP; at which point I get the error "GTX-WARNING: cannot open display." Our application is not graphical, but it does use Java timers which I believe have to plug into the XHost.