Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hey all, I've posted this problem elsewhere a week or so ago and still no fixes, so hopefully this forum will help. I have a problem initializing kde. When I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366

    Help with KDE locking up


    Hey all,

    I've posted this problem elsewhere a week or so ago and still no fixes, so hopefully this forum will help. I have a problem initializing kde. When I log on in text mode I can ping and ftp and use the net. After I startx the kde load screen comes up and locks up during the "initializing peripherals" phase. This is a problem because if I boot with "nohotplug" kde loads fine but my net card and mouse do not work. This is a labtop so its not that much of a problem except for needing a network card. I am running slackware 10.0.

    Oh, if I use SLAX, knoppix, damnsmalllinux, or any other live cd I do not have this problem.

    Any ideas?

    Thank you for you time

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    826
    what happens if you boot nohotplug but then start hotplug after you're in kde?

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    How do you start hotplug from kde? I didn't know this was possible?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    826
    Quote Originally Posted by genesus
    How do you start hotplug from kde? I didn't know this was possible?
    i think you would just run /etc/rc.d/rc.hotplug start from a terminal

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    thank you so much, I am going to try this as soon as I get off of work tonight!

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    Thank you so much Sether...It worked now I can really start cooking with gas!

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    Well it did work, but now it doesn't, when I start hotplugging I see the light for my comp show up on the router, but no internet connectivity, it worked in the morning but in the evening it didn't,

    Any ideas?

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    For some reason though, fluxbox and all other xwm systems work, !?!?, not sure on this one...oh well I guess I can see KDE as not really needed, but still, I'm more used to that than fluxbox!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •