Find the answer to your Linux question:
Okay, so I am pretty new to Linux. I just started using it about 2-3 months ago, and I am thoroughly hooked. I appreciate the open source concept as well ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Touchscreen Linux

Okay, so I am pretty new to Linux. I just started using it about 2-3 months ago, and I am thoroughly hooked.

I appreciate the open source concept as well as the customization capabilities of the platform. However, I have a few questions regarding the future development of the Linux system.

I have lots of questions about Linux and it's future, but I will limit this thread to using Linux on a touch screen device. Dell, Apple, HP, and others have started rolling out tablet computers and desktop computers that enable a users to interact with their system via touch.

I am wondering how well these new technologies interact with Linux. After reading up on Linux and numerous comparison to other operating systems, I have no doubt that Linux is by far the most capable OS for almost any task. I feel that a Linux based program can out perform a Windows or an OSX counterpart. However, it takes someone to create the program and due to the nature of open source there isn't always an alternative. Lack of a Linux option seems increasingly rare, but it is still inhibiting at times.

Since the touch screen popularity is relatively new, and Linux programmers may not have been interested in or aware of touch screen systems, it may be a while since Linux has a touch screen oriented OS.