Find the answer to your Linux question:
Dear friends, This is my first posting. Actually I am new to linux. I am using Fedora core 2. My problem is, I downloaded ICONS-Gartoon.Blue-v1.2.tar.bz2 from kde-look.org.I was in the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

lost my KDE desktop

Dear friends,
    This is my first posting. Actually I am new to linux. I am using Fedora core 2.
    My problem is,
    I downloaded ICONS-Gartoon.Blue-v1.2.tar.bz2 from kde-look.org.I was in the 'user' account.Without untarring the application, I went to: 'start here'->appearences and themes->icons->new themes and then I browsed to the tar file on my desktop. Then I pressed OK. soon after this, my desktop went blank and I got this message:

Klipper crash (window)
    SIGABRT signal 6

Even after restarting my computer I am not getting my desktop back. But, from root I could see all my files intact. Also if I am entering by GNOME desktop, everything is OK.Please help me how to restore my KDE desktop.

Thank you

Quote Originally Posted by ashfaq_m
    Even after restarting my computer I am not getting my desktop back
    what do you mean? What are you getting instead?
    -lakerdonald

Just Joined!
    At restart, I am again getting the window saying this:

Klipper crash (window)
    SIGABRT signal 6 and few other things like I have to report this to kde website for bug etc ..

One interesting thing is, after i login , one sartup application 'skype' is starting up and I could login into it. Only this application is visible, and nothing else except blue screen.

Linux Engineer
    you probably need to manually edit the config file that stores what kde theme you're using and remove the offending reference to the tarball'ed theme.. and then unpack the theme and try again.
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

Just Joined!