Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi my first post on this forum, but by no means am I a linux noob. Used it for at least 8-9 years and helped out with Karoshi Linux (Free ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

DIY E-Reader needs GUI. Help!

Hi

my first post on this forum, but by no means am I a linux noob. Used it for at least 8-9 years and helped out with Karoshi Linux (Free Server and Client Linux for UK Schools).

And today I have a new project. I have ripped the guts from a Toshiba M200 tablet and will transplant them into the inside of a antique looking leather bound book. As I am a physicist I have preloaded all my pdf's and djvu files of Physics books/Papers/Journal etc and beyond needing to read these books I only need to use internet (Google Chrome) and Xournal (Writing App). And CW (I cant remember what it stands for as an on-screenkeyboard.

It will be the big book of physics.

As I only really need 4 apps (not including update, wireless networking and other obvious necessary apps) I would like to make a custom really lightweight gui thats inspired by e-readers or akin to the joojoo for my project.

I am currently using Linux Mint 7 on my hardware, old but i am very familiar with it and I needed to work out how to rotate display and wacom input with an xorg i knew.

So should I start off with GNOME/LXDE/XFCE and modify them to buggery or try and make an app overlay for either or even go whole hog and create a new Window Manger. It could be useful if anyone else is trying to make their own e-reader.
    Or does a linux for this purpose exist.

Either way, help and suggestions appreciated

Ash

There are so many WindowManagers around. Just take the one that is closest to your goal and adapt it to match the rest.
    Matchbox is a good one for handhelds, by the way.
    Debian GNU/Linux -- You know you want it.

Linux Engineer