Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am calling an application as a background thread from inside a servlet(with a -nodisplay option) using the Runtime.exec() command. This application requires a valid DISPLAY environment variable even tho ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

use a dummy display?

I am calling an application as a background thread from inside a servlet(with a -nodisplay option) using the Runtime.exec() command. This application requires a valid DISPLAY environment variable even tho I do not use the DISPLAY option at all. The application has an option to specify an xdisplay during start up. Can I set this to a dummy (but valid, since DISPLAY=null doesnt work.) display?? I am relatively new to Linux, so any pointers on this is much appreciated.
    thanks.

Linux Guru
    Well, this is a bit dirty, but you could start an Xvfb server.

Just Joined!
    Thanks. I will check this out.

Just Joined!
    Hi: I finally did some reading and understood what Xfvb is all about.
    I have a problem running it tho-

I found all the X windows programs under /usr/X11R6/bin including Xvfb.

This is how I started Xvfb on the command line after cd to the bin directory (as root)-
    Xvfb :99 -screen 0 1x1x8 & and I get the following error -
    Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/, removing from list!

From what I found on google, I understand that this means X11 has not been fully installed. Is that right? Does it mean that X11 has to be installed fresh or can I do something to just get Xvfb working? If its the former I should aproach our admin guys - but I would really prefer doing it myself(a linux newbie) if its not too complicated. Any pointers, suggestions?

Thanks.

Linux Guru
    I don't know what exactly the problem is, but I do know that I can use Xvfb perfectly well.