Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I changed the desktop switch tool from gnome to twm to see how twm desktop looks like. But unfortunately I am really finding difficult to swith over from twm to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2

    fedora core 1 switching from twm to gnome or kde desktop


    I changed the desktop switch tool from gnome to twm to see how twm desktop looks like. But unfortunately I am really finding difficult to swith over from twm to either kde or gnome. Kindly help me in doing it

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Code:
    switchdesk
    -lakerdonald

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    or xwmconfig

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2
    thanks for your help, it worked.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1

    unknown command ?

    When i use xwmconfig or switchdesk, i got the message "unknown command". Why ?
    I want to switch from TWM to Gnome...

  6. #6
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Those commands may not work with your distro.
    Just log out, do you get a login screen?
    If so, look in the menu for "session", and then you should be able to select Gnome from there.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •