Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26
In the tutorials section lakerdonald has posted a tutorial on how to customize fluxbox, which will also help you greatly P.S. you may want to make sure that you don't ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366

    In the tutorials section lakerdonald has posted a tutorial on how to customize fluxbox, which will also help you greatly

    P.S. you may want to make sure that you don't already have it, not sure about RedHat 9, but many distros come with it already installed. Try the switchdesk command or xwmconfig, one should work, and see if it gives flux as an option before you try to install it.

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    166
    ok i ran switchdesk, and i had gnome, kde, tmw(or something like that). I don't have fluxbox, so im gonna go ahead and install fluxbox. Thanks for your everyones help, and I'll post any problems that I have
    Registered Linux User Number 373366

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    166
    ok, i installed it, and did everything it said to in the documentation, it ll went very smoothly. But how do i start using it?? i did everything it said to, but wheneveri restart X11, it just boots my same old desktop. how do I start using fluxbox???
    Registered Linux User Number 373366

  4. #14
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    try
    Code:
    switchdesk
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  5. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    166
    i tried that, but when the list comes up, fluxbox isn't on it
    Registered Linux User Number 373366

  6. #16
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    There should be a file in your home directory named .xinitrc, or .xsession-defaults (can't remember exactly, sorry). Inside that file you should see something like:

    Code:
    #This script is generated by switchdesk..
    
    exec startkde
    #exec gnome-session
    Just add a line for fluxbox, and comment out the others:

    Code:
    exec fluxbox
    #exec startkde
    #exec gnome-session
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  7. #17
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    166
    ahhh. i did that, but I didn't comment out the others! I'll try that now...
    Registered Linux User Number 373366

  8. #18
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    166
    ok, its still not doing anything...if it makes any differentce, i use a login manager and i don't have to type 'startx'. How do i make it so i do have to type 'startx'??
    Registered Linux User Number 373366

  9. #19
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    166
    ok, I've been messing around for like 2 hours, and still have gotten nowhere. Does anybody have an idea of how to get fluxbox to run????
    Registered Linux User Number 373366

  10. #20
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    166
    ok I added a script to /etc/X11/gdm/Sessions that says:

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    #
    # /etc/X11/gdm/Sessions/fluxbox
    #
    # global fluxbox session file -- used by gdm
    
    exec /usr/local/bin/fluxbox
    It still dosent appear under the sessions tab at login. Any ideas why???
    Registered Linux User Number 373366

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •