Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30
Is this Mint KDE, GNOME or XFCE?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393

    Is this Mint KDE, GNOME or XFCE?

  2. #12
    Just Joined! bonesTdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    91
    Good old fashioned Mint 10.10 Julia Gnome - 64 bit.
    Last edited by bonesTdog; 04-07-2011 at 12:53 PM.

  3. #13
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,596
    Quote Originally Posted by bonesTdog View Post
    Good old fashioned Mint 10.10 Julia Gnome - 64 bit.
    Did you try that operation either as root or sudo?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  4. #14
    Just Joined! bonesTdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    91
    Yep. sudo just as described above. I got the following message which made me think everything worked as planned:
    Removing any system startup links for /etc/init.d/gdm ...

    But when I rebooted, nothing changed.

    I am suspicious of not having rcconf installed although regardless there must be a simple way to boot into terminal... hrmph.

  5. #15
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Not sure why it won't work in Mint. Try some of the suggestions in the comments section of this article.

  6. #16
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Quote Originally Posted by bonesTdog View Post
    there must be a simple way to boot into terminal... hrmph.
    should be able to stop gdm loading by renaming S20gdm to K20gdm in /etc/rc2.d/ ... it has worked for me

    type
    Code:
    sudo mv /etc/rc2.d/S20gdm /etc/rc2.d/K20gdm
    then restart system to start in terminal mode

    and
    Code:
    sudo mv /etc/rc2.d/K20gdm /etc/rc2.d/S20gdm
    should put things back as they were

  7. #17
    Just Joined! bonesTdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    91
    Well sheesh... I don't have s20gdm in /etc/rc2.d. I see lots of other s20* symlinks, but no gmd. No files, everything in this folder is a symlink.

    Not sure if this is helpful, but I see a symlink called gdm located in /etc/init.d that points to /lib/init/upstart-job.

  8. #18
    Linux Newbie theKbStockpiler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    211

    This maybe a stupid Question but ..

    Doesn't the console mode not use X. Control- Alt- and any short cut key from F2-F6. Control- Alt- F1 brings you back to an X session. All pressed at the same time of coarse.

  9. #19
    Just Joined! bonesTdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    91
    Yes, that works but I want to simply boot directly into terminal with no gui rather than cntrl>alt>F1.

    Here are all the symlinks listed in /etc/rc2.d in cast that helps.

    /etc/rc2.d \>-- ls
    README S20vboxdrv S50rsync S90binfmt-support
    S20fancontrol S20vboxweb-service S50saned S99acpi-support
    S20hddtemp S25bluetooth S70dns-clean S99grub-common
    S20kerneloops S31atieventsd S70pppd-dns S99ondemand
    S20speech-dispatcher S50pulseaudio S75sudo S99rc.local

  10. #20
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    I'm using Mint Debian edition gdm symlink is in rc2.d and /etc/inittab exists as well.

    Code:
    jonathan-user@Desktop-PC ~ $ ls /etc/rc2.d/
    K01bluetooth       S17rsyslog  S18loadcpufreq      S20saned
    K01gdm3            S17sudo     S18rsync            S21bootlogs
    K01pulseaudio      S18acpid    S19avahi-daemon     S22rc.local
    K01samba           S18atd      S19cpufrequtils     S22rmnologin
    README             S18cron     S19network-manager  S22stop-bootlogd
    S15portmap         S18dbus     S20alsa-utils
    S17binfmt-support  S18exim4    S20cups
    S17fancontrol      S18hddtemp  S20pcscd

    Code:
    jonathan-user@Desktop-PC ~ $ cat /etc/inittab 
    # /etc/inittab: init(8) configuration.
    # $Id: inittab,v 1.91 2002/01/25 13:35:21 miquels Exp $
    
    # The default runlevel.
    id:2:initdefault:
    
    # Boot-time system configuration/initialization script.
    # This is run first except when booting in emergency (-b) mode.
    si::sysinit:/etc/init.d/rcS
    
    # What to do in single-user mode.
    ~~:S:wait:/sbin/sulogin
    
    # /etc/init.d executes the S and K scripts upon change
    # of runlevel.
    #
    # Runlevel 0 is halt.
    # Runlevel 1 is single-user.
    # Runlevels 2-5 are multi-user.
    # Runlevel 6 is reboot.
    
    l0:0:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 0
    l1:1:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 1
    l2:2:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 2
    l3:3:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 3
    l4:4:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 4
    l5:5:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 5
    l6:6:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 6
    # Normally not reached, but fallthrough in case of emergency.
    z6:6:respawn:/sbin/sulogin
    
    # What to do when CTRL-ALT-DEL is pressed.
    ca:12345:ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t1 -a -r now
    
    # Action on special keypress (ALT-UpArrow).
    #kb::kbrequest:/bin/echo "Keyboard Request--edit /etc/inittab to let this work."
    
    # What to do when the power fails/returns.
    pf::powerwait:/etc/init.d/powerfail start
    pn::powerfailnow:/etc/init.d/powerfail now
    po::powerokwait:/etc/init.d/powerfail stop
    
    # /sbin/getty invocations for the runlevels.
    #
    # The "id" field MUST be the same as the last
    # characters of the device (after "tty").
    #
    # Format:
    #  <id>:<runlevels>:<action>:<process>
    #
    # Note that on most Debian systems tty7 is used by the X Window System,
    # so if you want to add more getty's go ahead but skip tty7 if you run X.
    #
    1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1
    2:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
    3:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
    4:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty4
    5:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty5
    6:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty6
    
    # Example how to put a getty on a serial line (for a terminal)
    #
    #T0:23:respawn:/sbin/getty -L ttyS0 9600 vt100
    #T1:23:respawn:/sbin/getty -L ttyS1 9600 vt100
    
    # Example how to put a getty on a modem line.
    #
    #T3:23:respawn:/sbin/mgetty -x0 -s 57600 ttyS3

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •