Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
I recently installed squeeze and I need to add a resolution to xorg but there is no longer a xorg.conf? Iv never really been any good with anything to do ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! georanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    66

    Debian resolutions?


    I recently installed squeeze and I need to add a resolution to xorg but there is no longer a xorg.conf? Iv never really been any good with anything to do with X so i would appreciate any help that anyone can give. Im trying to add a resolution for my 1920x1080 monitor at 60Hz.

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    If you are running nvidia drivers, you can run nvidia-xconfig in a console to create the xorg.conf file. Here's my xorg.conf file for Arch Linux if you want to use it as a reference for creating your own:

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
        Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "Unknown"
        HorizSync       24.0 - 80.0
        VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
        Option         "DPI" "96x96"
        Option         "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    Note that it picks up the 1920x1080 monitor resolution at 60Hz automatically.
    oz

  3. #3
    Just Joined! georanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    66
    how do i find out what driver i should be using?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    The video driver you use depends on the make and model of your video card unless you want to use a generic linux driver, which of course may not give the performance of proprietary drivers that were built for your card.
    oz

  6. #5
    Just Joined! georanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    66
    I have just integrated graphics. That are on my desktop so im gonna guess intel?

  7. #6
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Look at the output of lspci.
    Looking at the output, you'll see a listing for your GFX chip.
    You can either Google around for the right driver, or you can post that line back here for assistance.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  8. #7
    Just Joined! georanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    66
    VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device (rev 03)

  9. #8
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    That chip uses the i810 driver.
    That should be included in the kernel. But if not, you can find information on it here. That page is for Squeeze.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  10. #9
    Just Joined! georanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    66
    v iv changed to my proper driver in my xorg.conf but i stil dont have the correct resolutions after rebooting

  11. #10
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I've not used Debian proper, just derivatives like Ubuntu and Mint.
    So you will need to use a little Google work, or wait for more detailed replies from our members here.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •