Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
In Gnome 3, dual monitors don't work very well for me, both in Ubuntu 11.10 and Debian testing ("wheezy"). I do get a secondary monitor that looks different from my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User Daan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    323

    Gnome 3 dual monitors doesn't work in Ubuntu and Debian


    In Gnome 3, dual monitors don't work very well for me, both in Ubuntu 11.10 and Debian testing ("wheezy"). I do get a secondary monitor that looks different from my primary monitor, but can't drag any windows onto it, except for some non-Gnome windows (like Chromium browser), which I can drag onto it only partially. So the secondary monitor is almost completely useless.

    I suspect that it has to do with my specific computer, because I have with two different OS's and with two different secondary monitors. I'm using an HP 6930p notebook.

    How do find out what is wrong? Where do I start looking?

    Thanks a million,

    Daan
    OS's I use: Debian testing, Debian stable, Ubuntu, OpenSuse 12.1, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP

  2. #2
    Linux User Daan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    323
    I might also add that in xfce, dual monitors also doesn't work well. Here, the two monitors show up in the display settings, but there is no option to make them stop mirroring each other.
    OS's I use: Debian testing, Debian stable, Ubuntu, OpenSuse 12.1, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP

  3. #3
    Linux User Daan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    323
    I have some new info: the problem does not occur the old Gnome in Debian. In Gnome 3, I can drag all windows partially onto the secondary monitor, as with Chromium, if ALT-click and than drag, and, most interestingly,

    *the problem only occurs if the secondary monitor is above the primary.*

    It is as if the Gnome 3 top bar is blocking dragging windows across it.
    OS's I use: Debian testing, Debian stable, Ubuntu, OpenSuse 12.1, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1
    This is exactly the same behavior I am having, but I also haven't been able to find any information about it. Vertical orientation of the monitors has the issue, but horizontal orientation does not.

    I mentioned my problem on Google Plus (with pictures). I can't link to the thread, but it will show up at (http [://] goo.gl <slash> g9p4Z)

    It sounds like the same issue.

  6. #5
    Linux User Daan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    323
    Hi Mathew,

    Your descriptions here:

    https://plus.google.com/116123198543...ts/GBc8fMaG1VZ

    and here:

    https://plus.google.com/116123198543...ts/f5UKQm8TSRY

    look exactly like my problem.

    As I said before, I have the problem when my secondary is configured to be above my primary monitor. So if I make my external VGA monitor my primary:

    daan@schmauck:~$ xrandr --output VGA1 --primary

    I can drag windows normally between the two monitors. This is a workaround, not a solution, as I prefer my laptop screen as primary monitor. This also introduces another problem: the top monitor overlaps with the bottom monitor, the overlap is displayed as black transparent, resulting in a grey bar as wide as the top monitor (in pixels) at the top of my bottom monitor, about as thick as the Gnome Shell's top panel. It covers the desktop background or any windows behind it on the bottom monitor and I cannot click through it. If it was there when my bottom monitor was the primary, I may not have noticed because the Gnome top panel was covering it.

    Let me now if you find out more!

    Best,

    Daan
    Last edited by Daan; 12-07-2011 at 04:01 PM.
    OS's I use: Debian testing, Debian stable, Ubuntu, OpenSuse 12.1, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP

  7. #6
    Linux User Daan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    323
    I've just found out that the grey transparent bar is not so much overlap from the monitor above, but it is the "status notification area" that pops up if you receive new email etc. or hover with your mouse in the bottom right corner of your primary monitor.
    OS's I use: Debian testing, Debian stable, Ubuntu, OpenSuse 12.1, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP

  8. #7
    Linux User Daan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    323
    For more info on the above mentioned bugs, including workarounds and fixes:

    https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=663690

    and

    https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=636963
    OS's I use: Debian testing, Debian stable, Ubuntu, OpenSuse 12.1, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP

  9. #8
    Linux User Daan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    323
    For more info on the above mentioned bugs, including workarounds and fixes:

    https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=663690

    and

    https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=636963
    OS's I use: Debian testing, Debian stable, Ubuntu, OpenSuse 12.1, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP

  10. #9
    Linux User Daan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    323
    Sorry for the double post above.

    I upgraded Gnome Shell from 3.0 to 3.2 (taking it from the Debian unstable repository). This fixes only the second bug, i.e. the "user notification area" (or "message tray") covering the top of the bottom monitor when the top monitor is primary, by moving the message tray to the bottom of the bottom monitor. It does not fix the first bug, when the bottom monitor is primary I cannot get any windows on the top monitor.
    OS's I use: Debian testing, Debian stable, Ubuntu, OpenSuse 12.1, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •