Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Roxoff
Hello, This is probably a borderline n00b question but recently I have taken interest in using the X window functionality of ssh. I can ssh into a remote machine but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    16

    Using multiple X programs across SSH.


    Hello,

    This is probably a borderline n00b question but recently I have taken interest in using the X window functionality of ssh. I can ssh into a remote machine but it seems that I can only run one application at a time. I can of course call xterm and type in my command to start a graphical program but it seems that I can only one one program at a time from the xterm. I'm currently using TWM due to memory restraints on an old Windows 98 machine.

    Is there a UNIX/Linux built in command that will let me run multiple X GUI programs at once from a single ssh prompt?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,933
    If you terminate the command line with an ampersand character (i.e. a '&') it will launch it in the background and the command prompt will return, for example:
    Code:
    $ xterm &
    fratermus likes this.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    16
    Ah great!
    I recall mention of that now from some time ago.
    I'm not on a Linux box right now, so I must ask with a window manager like TWM will a backgrounded X11 application still show as visable?

    Thanks.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    You could also run a window manager like TWM or a desktop over ssh. Take a look here/ for some tips.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks for the help gents, I was able to really take advantage of backgrounded programs.

    snapshot.jpg

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    75081
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by daark.child View Post
    You could also run a window manager like TWM or a desktop over ssh. Take a look here for some tips.
    I am a bit confused by this. Will ask here since it was mentioned, or will take it to a new thread if that's more appropriate.

    Does opening a WM over ssh only work if you are not running a WM locally?
    I tried it and got this:
    Code:
    myUser@myBox $ ssh -XC otherBox "openbox" 
    Openbox-Message: A window manager is already running on screen 0
    Similar with twm proper.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •