Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am dual booting WinXP and RH9, RH installed fine, and will load to text login, but when I startX the monitor immediatly goes to sleep, I have a HP ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Monitor appears to go to sleep when X is started

I am dual booting WinXP and RH9, RH installed fine, and will load to text login, but when I startX the monitor immediatly goes to sleep,

I have a HP ultra VGA 1280, ATI radeon 7200,

The OS loads fine (no appearent errors), And I reinstalled using the GUI just to see if it would work, and it does, I did get a warning during install about the partitioning, but it said it was safe to ignore, so I dont think that is the issue.

I cant seem to find the right command to re-run the Xconfig, i found the XF86config file, but i cant find the xf86setup. Can someone pls point me in some kinda direction?

Pls keep in mind that im kinda new to linux...

Just Joined!

same

BTW i tried to run redhat-xfree86-config, and the same thing happens, the monitor goes to sleep, I forgot to put that in the 1st post

Linux Guru
    Could it be that you're using a resolution that your monitor can't handle? Try adjusting the resolution with Ctrl+Alt+NumpadPlus and Ctrl+Alt+NumpadMinus.

Just Joined!

resolution 800 x 600

Nope, i set to 800 x 600, and the monitor handles well over that in windows, and I dont know if it makes a difference, but the install GUI works fine. I really need some way to play with the configuration so i can test, but i can not find anything that works, The PC im on right now is a 633 celeron w/ 256 mb ram, (its an old Emachine) with on board intel graphics, and a 15' gateway ev500 and the res is set to 1024x768 works great, i just dont understand why its not working on my good PC. ??

Linux Guru
    It could be that it's using wrong video card drivers. What video card do you have and what driver did you use?