Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi - I'm a running a tri-head Xinerama setup. Fortunately, I finally made a xorg.conf that boots X the way I want. Unfortunately, I can no longer switch to consoles ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    123

    tri-head Xinerama X.conf issue


    Hi - I'm a running a tri-head Xinerama setup. Fortunately, I finally made a xorg.conf that boots X the way I want. Unfortunately, I can no longer switch to consoles (<ctrl><alt><f3> etc) because trying to do so freezes X. I have to use exclusively the X interface. This is the end of the world. Can anyone help?

    Here is my xorg.conf file...

    Code:
    # XFree86 4.0 configuration made by Jameson H. Wiliams
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "XFree86 Configured"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen "Screen 1" RightOf "Screen 0"
    Screen "Screen 2" LeftOf "Screen 0"
    InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection
    
    # By default, Red Hat Linux 6.0 and later use xfs
    
    Section "Files"
    FontPath "unix/&#58;7100"
    EndSection
    
    
    # Module loading section
    
    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe" # Double-buffering
    Load "GLcore" # OpenGL support
    Load "dri" # Direct rendering infrastructure
    Load "glx" # OpenGL X protocol interface
    Load "extmod" # Misc. required extensions
    Load "v4l" # Video4Linux
    Load "record" # X event recorder
    # You only need the following two modules if you do not use xfs.
    # Load "freetype" # TrueType font handler
    # Load "type1" # Adobe Type 1 font handler
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "Xinerama"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "on"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    
    # monitor screen 0
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "vp171b"
    VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName "ViewSonic VP171b"
    HorizSync 30.0 - 82.0
    VertRefresh 50.0 - 85.0
    Option "dpms"
    EndSection
    
    # monitor for screen 1
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "sdmm51"
    VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName "LCD Panel 1024x768"
    HorizSync 31.5 - 48.5
    VertRefresh 40.0 - 70.0
    Option "dpms"
    EndSection
    
    # monitor for screen 2
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "ev700"
    VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName "Gateway EV700"
    HorizSync 31.0 - 69.0
    VertRefresh 50.0 - 110.0
    Option "dpms"
    EndSection
    
    
    # device for screen 0
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "ATIP"
    Driver "radeon"
    BusID "PCI&#58;1&#58;00&#58;0"
    Option "AGPMode" "2"
    Screen 0
    EndSection
    
    # device for screen 1
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "ATIS"
    Driver "radeon"
    BusID "PCI&#58;1&#58;0&#58;0"
    Option "AGPMode" "2"
    Screen 1
    EndSection
    
    # device for screen 2
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "tnt2"
    Driver "nv"
    BusID "PCI&#58;0&#58;10&#58;0"
    VendorName "Videocard vendor"
    BoardName "RIVA TNT2"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen 0"
    Device "ATIP"
    
    Monitor "vp171b"
    DefaultDepth 16
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 16
    Modes "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen 1"
    Device "ATIS"
    Monitor "sdmm51"
    DefaultDepth 16
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen 2"
    Device "tnt2"
    Monitor "ev700"
    DefaultDepth 16
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 16
    Modes "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    #Section "DRI"
    # Mode 0666
    #EndSection

    - Jameson Williams, Fedora Core 3 x86_64
    (left) Gateway EV700 on nVidia RIVA TNT2 PCI
    (center, main) ViewSonic VP171b on ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB Primary
    (right) Sony SDM-M51 on ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB Secondary

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    HOLY MOTHER OF GOD!!!
    thats what I'm talking about when speeking of multi-Screen setup!!
    damn..
    I'm not quite sure of this, but i might be a general limit that other then X cannot support... I'll have a good look at this since I never seen this...

    Can you restart X after it crashes?
    can you
    Code:
    CTRL-ALT-BCKSP
    startx
    without X crashing?
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  3. #3
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    correct me if i'm wrong, but when you do get into a text/console/alt-f1 environment, it is only on one display?
    also, have you tried removing one factor, and tried a dual head? perhaps there is some incompatibility between one of the three monitors? you could eliminate the bad one, by trying combinations of 2, perhaps?

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Quote Originally Posted by jwilliams
    # device for screen 0
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "ATIP"
    Driver "radeon"
    BusID "PCI:1:00:0"
    Option "AGPMode" "2"
    Screen 0
    EndSection

    # device for screen 1
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "ATIS"
    Driver "radeon"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    Option "AGPMode" "2"
    Screen 1
    EndSection

    # device for screen 2
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "tnt2"
    Driver "nv"
    BusID "PCI:0:10:0"
    VendorName "Videocard vendor"
    BoardName "RIVA TNT2"
    EndSection
    also the 2 first screen seems to be on the same PCI... 1.0.0, 1.00.0
    since im not sure that 1:0:0 and 1:00:0 is the same, can you post your reading on this command please :
    Code:
    lspci
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  5. #5
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    you do know that you can share pci/irq/etc.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    I do... but this could make things unstable.. that why I asked..
    IRQ sharing is like having protected memory been written by many threads... quite dangerous if not monitored properly
    since his system his crashing... this could be an option
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  7. #7
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    True, don't quite know what changing the PCI/IRQ would entail though.

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    entail? never heard that word... what does it meen?
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  9. #9
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    involve, require (in a sense of having to be done), presuppose

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    ok thanks... I'll go to sleep 1 word smarter!
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •