Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I'm still fairly new to Linux, so I apologize if this post should be in a different forum location. We're using Redhat Enterprise 6.1 in my workplace, and are ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Trying to get a full screen window to stretch across dual monitors

Hello,

I'm still fairly new to Linux, so I apologize if this post should be in a different forum location.

We're using Redhat Enterprise 6.1 in my workplace, and are setting up a computer with dual 42" monitors. Our software requires a BIG display that will stretch across both monitors. The computer uses an NVidia graphics card (Quadro NVS 450 to be specific) that has four DP ports. We're using two of them obviously.

I got the dual monitors to work by installing the NVidia driver, and having it auto config the "xorg.conf" file. Right now it's set up to run a Twin display so that the desktop is continuous from one monitor to the other. It works great, the problem that we're having is with fullscreen windows.

We need our program window to stretch across both monitors as I mentioned before. And you can physically stretch the window to cover both, but as soon as you click the full screen button on the window, it automatically snaps back to only cover one monitor. Unfortunately, it's not practical for our customer to make them switch to windowed mode and stretch the window every time the computer boots (our program automatically comes up in full screen on bootup).

Is there a way to make full screen windows cover both monitors? I've tried using wmctrl, but it doesn't seem to work for full screen windows. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Using Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server Release 6.1 (Santiago)
    Kernel Linux 2.6.32-131.0.15.el6.i686
    GNOME 2.28.2

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.