Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
I am using Redhat 9...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux User Allblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Godzone
    Posts
    416

    I am using Redhat 9
    I am on a journey to mastering Linux and I got a bloody long way to go!!!

  2. #12
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    In that case, kdm should be run automatically by init when you're in runlevel 5.
    In runlevel 3, try running "/etc/X11/prefdm -nodaemon" and see what happens.

  3. #13
    Linux User Allblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Godzone
    Posts
    416
    No luck,

    I switched to runlevel 3 and issued the /etc/X11/prefdm -nodaemon command.
    I believe it returned no such file or directory

    When I issued /usr/bin/kdm -nodaemon it went into graphical mode and the KDM screen appears just the way I want it.

    It does not work when I reboot. I cannot add it to runlevel 5 either

    cheers
    I am on a journey to mastering Linux and I got a bloody long way to go!!!

  4. #14
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Can you check the exact error from prefdm?

  5. #15
    Linux User Allblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Godzone
    Posts
    416
    ????
    I did not get an error . It just works (/etc/X11/prefdm -nodaemon)
    However, I still cannot get the kdm login screen to go automatically in level
    I am on a journey to mastering Linux and I got a bloody long way to go!!!

  6. #16
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    How do you mean that it works? Does the display manager start when you run prefdm? In that case, please check your inittab so that it starts prefdm in runlevel 5. It should have a line that looks something like this:
    Code:
    x:5:respawn:/etc/X11/prefdm -nodaemon

  7. #17
    Linux User Allblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Godzone
    Posts
    416
    the default display manager appears all the time but I want the kdm one to appear. When I go into runlevel 3 and type /etc/X11/kdm -nodaemon
    I go back in to runlevel 5 and the KDM screen appear. I would like KDM to appear every time instead of prefdm (which is the default one the way I understand)

    I cannot add kdm through services or chkconfig.

    I hope this make sense
    I am on a journey to mastering Linux and I got a bloody long way to go!!!

  8. #18
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Ah, then I get you! I didn't think anyone appeared.
    Actually, prefdm stands for preferred display manager, and starts the one that you have selected. Run this:
    Code:
    echo "DISPLAYMANAGER=KDE" >/etc/sysconfig/desktop
    Then switch to runlevel 3 and back again to 5 to restart it.

  9. #19
    Linux User Allblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Godzone
    Posts
    416
    Thanks Dolda, you are a champ!

    This works fine. Do you always have to add this entry manually to make it work? Or is the GUI for Login screen suppose to take care of this?

    Cheers
    I am on a journey to mastering Linux and I got a bloody long way to go!!!

  10. #20
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    There is something for it, I think it's called switchdesk or so, but I've never used it.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •