Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
Those are dependencies. It appears that KDE is not installed, that's why you are defaulting to fvwm. Do you recall installing KDE? Is this a net-install or do you have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630

    Those are dependencies. It appears that KDE is not installed, that's why you are defaulting to fvwm. Do you recall installing KDE? Is this a net-install or do you have the cds?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    6
    yah tried to install but same problem came up. i'm using a cd

  3. #13
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    It could also be you have gdm, the gnome version. I'd go ahead and install all the dependancies for kdm which will have you on your way to a kde desktop environment. It's either that or a re-install to include KDE desktop.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13

    Same problem

    My system used to startup linux in kde, but now I am surprised with the fvwm2 showing up instead of the kde
    I can't find the menu to choose.

    Anyone know what might be the cause?

  6. #15
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    If KDE was coming up without problems and now you only have fvwm2, there is likely something wrong with KDE. SuSE defaults to fvwm2 when KDE is not available. Have you done any file editing or made any configuration changes just prior to this happening?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  7. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13
    I've done some attempts get my tablet to work with Sax2, but that shouldn't screw up kde, should it?

  8. #17
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Don't know...

    Are you at all able to get out to kdm, (the sign in manager)? Can you get there by pressing Ctrl-Alt-Backspace? Or is it defaulting out to xdm, (the plain sign in manager)? If you CAN get out to kdm, go to "sessions" and choose, "Failsafe. Then type:

    startkde

    And press enter. Any errors? What are they?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  9. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13
    Here's the output startkde gives:
    Code:
    xset: unable to open display ""
    xset: unable to open display ""
    xset: unable to open display ""
    xsetroot: unable to open display ''
    xset: unable to open display ""
    xset: unable to open display ""
    kdeinit: Aborting. $DISPLAY is not set.
    warning: connect() failed: : No such file or directory
    Error: Can't contact kdeinit!
    startkde: running shutdown scripts...
    startkde: Done.

  10. #19
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Have you edited your /etc/X11/xorg.conf recently? Have a look at this and see if anything rings a bell.

    EDIT: Found this too.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  11. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13
    As far as I know of, I didn't edit xorg.conf recently.

    If I log in as root and run:
    Code:
    telinit 3
    startx
    KDE will startup for the root user.
    when I shutdown the KDE, logout as root and login as normal user, and then startx, I get the fvwm.
    Here's the output of the startx command:
    Code:
    hostname: Onbekende host
    hostname: Onbekende host
    xauth: (stdin):3:  bad display name "/unix:0" in "add" command
    
    
    This is a pre-release version of XFree86, and is not supported in any
    way.  Bugs may be reported to XFree86@XFree86.Org and patches submitted
    to fixes@XFree86.Org.  Before reporting bugs in pre-release versions,
    please check the latest version in the XFree86 CVS repository
    (http://www.XFree86.Org/cvs).
    
    XFree86 Version 4.3.99.902 (4.4.0 RC 2)
    Release Date: 18 December 2003
    X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 6.6
    Build Operating System: SuSE Linux [ELF] SuSE
    Current Operating System: Linux dhcppc4 2.6.4-52-default #1 Wed Apr 7 02:08:30 UTC 2004 i686
    Build Date: 23 August 2004
    Changelog Date: 29 February 2004
    	Before reporting problems, check http://www.XFree86.Org/
    	to make sure that you have the latest version.
    Module Loader present
    Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
    	(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
    	(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
    (==) Log file: "/var/log/XFree86.0.log", Time: Sun Mar  6 17:35:18 2005
    (==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/XF86Config"
    Symbol drmRmMap from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/via_drv.o is unresolved!
    Symbol drmAgpUnbind from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/via_drv.o is unresolved!
    Symbol drmAgpUnbind from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/via_drv.o is unresolved!
    Symbol drmRmMap from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/via_drv.o is unresolved!
    (==) Wacom tablet model : CT-0045R00,V1.3-5
    (==) Wacom using pressure threshold of 15 for button 1
    (==) Wacom Serial PenPartner tablet speed=9600 maxX=5040 maxY=3780 maxZ=256 resX=1000 resY=1000 suppress=2 tilt=disabled
    (==) Wacom device "Mouse[3]" top X=0 top Y=0 bottom X=30000 bottom Y=3780
    (==) Wacom device "Mouse[5]" top X=0 top Y=0 bottom X=30000 bottom Y=3780
    (==) Wacom device "Mouse[7]" top X=0 top Y=0 bottom X=30000 bottom Y=3780
    Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local, removing from list!
    Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID, removing from list!
    FvwmTheme is obsolete, see the Colorset section of the fvwm(1) man page
    Cannot parse color "dtcolor5"
    couldn't create gradient
    Cannot parse color "dtcolor5"
    couldn't create gradient
    Exec echo 'Could not run xlock'
    Exec echo 'Could not run xlock'
    /bin/sh: line 1: susewmif: command not found
    
    waiting for X server to shut down XIO:  fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0"
          after 513 requests (501 known processed) with 14 events remaining.
    X connection to :0.0 broken (explicit kill or server shutdown).
    xterm:  fatal IO error 32 (Gebroken pijp) or KillClient on X server ":0.0"
    X connection to :0.0 broken (explicit kill or server shutdown).
    XIO:  fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0"
          after 4288 requests (4281 known processed) with 1 events remaining.
    /bin/sh: line 1: susewmif: command not found
    XIO:  fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0"
          after 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaining.
    XIO:  fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0"
          after 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaining.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •