Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
i did a reinstall just to get the bootloader back, because the rescue gui didn't seem to work. and now x constantly uses more than 20 percent of the cpu. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7

    x taking >20 % cpu (1.5 ghz)


    i did a reinstall just to get the bootloader back, because the rescue gui didn't seem to work. and now x constantly uses more than 20 percent of the cpu. i have a pentium 4 1.5 ghz with 384 mb ram.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    okay...what do you want us to do about it? Is X the only process running?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7
    well its all the normal processes, like a normal kde session. before i did that x only took up around 1% of the cpu. i need some idea of how to fix this. i can't really do anything without it taking forever.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    which distribution are you using?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7
    mandrake 10.1.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    So you did a full reinstall of Mandrake?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7
    no i just did the install without formatting or anything. just did the bootloader installation part.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7
    the reason i didn't do a full reinstall is because i dont want to lose all of my settings and programs that took me hours to get right

    is there any way i can preserve them and reinstall? like maybe backing up some directories and reinstall, and then move the directories back? would that work?

  9. #9
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    can you detail your "reinstall" step-by-step for me, as i'm a tad bit confused as to what you did.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7
    ok. first it asked to partition and format. and i just selected none for format. then it did the packages selection. i didn't select anything because i didn't need anything. but then it said are you sure you want to install without blah blah blah(can't remember) but the options were install x, documentation, and minimal install. i selected none. then it got to the users part, and just accepted the users. got to the bootloader part and reinstalled the bootloader. everything still works, but yeah... x taking the cpu.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •