Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
well, seen as most of the gui's availble (kde, gnome etc) are all so highly customisable, I find it hard to resist changing things. here are a few of the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    82

    personalised linux guis


    well, seen as most of the gui's availble (kde, gnome etc) are all so highly customisable, I find it hard to resist changing things.
    here are a few of the layouts I have used in the past.... (all are kde 3.1)

    http://dream207.com/tom/minslack.jpg

    http://dream207.com/tom/slackware.jpg

    http://dream207.com/tom/orangeslack.jpg

    I'd be interested to see what everyone else can come up with, so get taking some screenshots!

  2. #2
    Linux User Mado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    255
    Those are pretty nice looking. I'll probably start customizing mine soon. I'll have to recreate my Samurize setup in SuperKaramba and all. For now my desktop is standard bluecurve, but I like the wallpaper...here's a picutre of it.

    To get the link working you have to copy/paste into the address because it's tripod...


    http://nephesh0.tripod.com/screenshot.jpg

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Calgary, AB CANADA
    Posts
    496
    Here's how mine currently looks...
    http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-...59/desktop.jpg

    Not sure why icons don't show up in the system tray. Just get a white box there...
    \"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler.\"
    Albert Einstein

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    this is my customised debian desktop at work

    http://www.this_site_does_not_exist/desktop.jpg

    Jason

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    55 (degrees) north 7 west
    Posts
    126
    i downloaded a theme from a website (www.deviantart.com if you want to know) but i can't install it can anyone help
    i'm running suse 8.2

    oh and mado thats a maximumly cool background image where did you get it? or did you make it yourself?
    Thanks v much

    \"Anything bigger than my ego i want it caught and killed\"- Zaphod Beeblebrox

    Multi boot:
    Win xp home, SuSE 8.2 and Slackware 9.1

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by mad_red_hatter
    oh and mado thats a maximumly cool background image where did you get it? or did you make it yourself?
    is it just me who gets "image hosted by tripod" and can't see that then???

  8. #7
    Linux User Mado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    255
    You have to actually copy and paste the url into the address bar to get it to work. Or better yet, here. I uploaded to my comcast account.

    The picture is from DeviantArt but I can't remember it's name and I lost the picture when I installed slack

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    82
    i tried that ack well.... looks good mate

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    http://www.angelfire.com/nd2/kylekon...ylescreen1.jpg
    http://www.angelfire.com/nd2/kylekon...ylescreen2.jpg

    well finally but here are my screen shots they are pretty much the same but i have a top tool bar that is only there when i move the cursor there so i have one shot w/o it and one w/ it.
    hope you enjoy my screen shots
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    well i changed my background and here is the new look.

    http://www.angelfire.com/nd2/kylekon...ylescreen3.jpg
    http://www.angelfire.com/nd2/kylekon...ylescreen4.jpg

    well my next thing to do is costumize my normal user then after thats done i will be usin that all the time and not touching root unless i have to.
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •