Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
hello guyz may be irrelevant topic but i think i should go for it what is VMWARE .. and for what purpose its used ? could you plz explain it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    137

    :: what is VMWARE ::


    hello guyz may be irrelevant topic but i think i should go for it

    what is VMWARE .. and for what purpose its used ?

    could you plz explain it to me thnx for any replies
    :: i dont know even a single word of linux ::

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    826

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    and if that wikipedia is too coimplicated, it allows you to ruin different OS's inside of your current OS.

    I tend to use it to try out installers before i balls my system up
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    137
    thnx man could you plz tell me if i m using xp then can i able to run LINUX over it or is it soo or some thing else
    :: i dont know even a single word of linux ::

  6. #5
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    what do you mean by over it??

    Basically what vmware alows u to do is boot an entirely different system within the current OS.

    So if u had XP, u could open up vmware, then boot the VM, and you can install say SuSE in that VM, without it affecting the win XP install.

    Or if u rebooted ur computer and installed SuSE direct to the hard drive, u could dual-boot SuSE / XP. Personally, i rarely use vmware as it is rather memory hungry effectively running 2 OS's at the same time
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    137
    yeh that the type of reply i want ..

    ok i'll give try to VMWARE but i already have suse on other hard and xp on other hard i'll use them for diff thing

    so no need to use vmware as u tell that it sucks
    :: i dont know even a single word of linux ::

  8. #7
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    no, if u have SusE and XP installed on seperate hard disks u dont need to install vmware, just reboot and it will ask what u want to load, suse or xp
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •