Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
i am writing a c++/qt application. this application receives ethernet data about 6 times a second. it uses this data to update and display a picture (pixmap) at about 60Hz. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

optimizing x performance

i am writing a c++/qt application. this application receives ethernet data about 6 times a second. it uses this data to update and display a picture (pixmap) at about 60Hz. at first glance, it looks okay, but i notice two problems. first, the screen flickers on update. i'm guessing this has something to do with the monitor's vertical refresh, but i'm not sure how to address that issue. second, after the app runs for a bit, i notice that the ethernet routine is actually running faster than the display routine. when i check for resource usage, i see that X is using about 60% of the cpu. since i'm pretty new to linux in general, i'm not sure if this is normal for an application like this, or if there is something i can do to make X run faster/smoother. another possibility is my graphics card. i am running fc2, with kde, on a dual pentium setup (~2.? GHz) with an NVIDIA Quado NVS and 2GB RAM. i guess the final possibility is that my code is just too slow, but i'm hoping that someone might have another idea. thanks for your help.

-duffman

First, where in tampa are you from?
    Second, why do you have the picture refreshing at 60 times per second, as you're only getting new data six times per second? And what do you mean by the ethernet routine runs faster than the screen update? How are you determining this?

Just Joined!
    first, i live near the airport and westshore mall, etc.