Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I got KDE 3.4 on a cd.How can I update?I v been searchin the web but I couldn't find any directions...I think this should be one of the IMPORTANTS how-to's....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    mic
    mic is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    34

    Update KDE


    I got KDE 3.4 on a cd.How can I update?I v been searchin the web but I couldn't find any directions...I think this should be one of the IMPORTANTS how-to's.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    I would assume
    Code:
    ./configure
    make
    su
    make install
    http://www.kde.org/documentation/faq/install.html

    which distro?
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    I beleve KDE has now made a prog, "konstruct", which (i think) helps you out and provide an easy way to manage the config + make + make install for you.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    mic
    mic is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    34
    I have all the rpm's.I don't think I can do ./configure...
    I don't remember exactly but I think u put all the rpm's in a folder then u go on level 3 and then in that folder u give rpm -something that I don't remember.If anyone knows the command that would b helpfull....

  6. #5
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    What distro are you using? There may be an "easy" way to do it...you could use YaST in Suse, for instance, and I think you can use urpmi for Mandrake (not sure about that one, though).
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    181
    I used pkgtool in slackware, easy and quick.

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    If it's RPM's, you can probably install them by pressing ctrl+alt+F2, then log in as root, then type this command:
    Code:
    rpm -Uvh *

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •