Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey guys,, for some reason when i try to log onto quakenet with ksirc.. i keep getting told that i am banned from the server. however.. I can log onto ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

red hat noob cant get it working! :(

Hey guys,, for some reason when i try to log onto quakenet with ksirc.. i keep getting told that i am banned from the server. however.. I can log onto quakenet using chatzilla.

Does anyone know hwy i cant use ksirc to get on.. or if there are better irc clients ! btw.. i am using red hat 8.0 and the KDE gui!
    I dont know if that helps.. I am a total linux noob.. just installed red hat today.. and have no idea what is going on!
    I am used to windows and am pretty good with computers.. but the file system in red hat is very confusing to me.. i dont know how to 'compile' things.. or even.. waht compiling things means! lol!

also.. i cant play mp3s or watch videos for some reason!

My computer has 2 hdd.. the primary has winxp installed.. and the slave has red hat 8.0 .. however i cant view my windows files in red aht.. and vice verca! any1 know how?

I am trying to play some movies.. which are in divx and Xvid formats.. but cant!

also.. how do i install graphics card drivers? i have a gforce 4 mx card. Do i need to install teh drivers? as red hat picked up the gfx card during its installation anyway!

Sorry about all these nooby questions! cheers!

Linux User
    RH9 took mp3 capabilitys out of the players. andim not sure about the movies. but it sounds like a codec problem. and for IRC i would recomend using Xchat or *****x. however i have no experiance with *****x. but ihear its good. i personally use Xchat and its great.

Linux Guru