Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
So i am new to all this and i installed mepis. So far so good, i like it. I have been looking at screenshots of other desktops and people have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

desktop enhansments

So i am new to all this and i installed mepis. So far so good, i like it. I have been looking at screenshots of other desktops and people have weather info, calendar, radar images, and computer temp. How do i go about getting that stuff to be on my desktop.

Thanks, Landon

Which Window Manager are you using? On KDE I like using SuperKaramba, but gDesklets and GNOME are nice too. gkrellm is a good system monitor docklet.

Just Joined!
    maybe i should do some more reading... what is superKaramba, gdesklets and gnome?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Engineer
    Take a look at www.kde-look.org

On the left, you will find a link 'Karamba'. Click on it and read . And do a Google search for Superkaramba. Make sure you install 0.36 (if you have a recent distro).
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

GNOME and KDE are the two biggest WM's, and you are probably using one of the two. gDesklets, SuperKaramba, and gkrellm are things that make your desktop "pretty" and "enhanced"

Just Joined!
    Thanks guys. kde is the WM i am using. Is there a big diffrence between gnome and kde?

Linux Engineer
    KDE is the default in mepis so I assume you use KDE. Try using this command in a commandline:
    Code:
    su
    apt-get update
    apt-get install superkaramba
    exit
    The "su" command makes you root in a terminal, root=the sysadmin, can earse the /-disk if want to, so be careful!